Roasted Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Tasted like I was back eating on the farm in Espanola, NM. I changed a bit and have tried with both ground beef or ground Turkey. Both equaly good. Beef was just as rich as using pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Excellent. Highly recommended. I lived in Santa Fe, NM for 13 years and can attest to the fact that this stuff is the "real McCoy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I used Pueblo peppers instead of Anaheims. It turned out really spicy, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I took this recipe to a chili cook off and won!!! The only change is that I omitted the oregano as I am not a fan. I am a New Mexican no longer living in New Mexico but I get a supply of frozen green chili every year at harvest time and it is sooooo worth the trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Wow, was this ever good! I used Bueno frozen roasted chilies as someone else suggested and beef broth because I didn't have vegetable broth. Served it with cooked pinto beans and flour tortillas. Absolutely wonderful! Will definitely make again and again. Reminds us of the pork green chili stew from a small Mexican restaurant where we used to live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I'm from Las Cruces, NM and was looking for a good green chile stew recipe. This one was great! Like other suggested, I used Bueno's roasted green chile instead of fresh roasted. I used 3 of the 13 oz tubs. I drained them before I added them Also, I omitted the serrano peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I'm from Albuquerque and make this stew often. I have used Hatch green chiles from the can (last choice) or the Bueno frozen chopped green chiles to make this easier. You can vary this by using beef broth and no serranos. It is a very forgiving recipe. I've even used ground meat in a pinch. Best served with flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
One of our all-time favorites!!! Delicious!!! We serve this with sour cream and grated cheddar on top...and warm tortillas with honey butter on the side- a match made in heaven!!!! Go green chiles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A REALLY GOOD GREEN CHILI RECIPE FOR A LONG TIME! ALL THE ONES I HAVE TRIED IN THE PAST HAVE BEEN SO PATHETIC THAT I ALMOST GAVE UP HOPE! HERE IS A TRUELY OUTSTANDING RECIPE.. MY HUSBAND WAS SO IMPRESSED HE HAD TO CALL A FRIEND AT 11PM LAST NITE. MY HUSBAND BY THE WAY IS AN EXECUTIVE CHEF AT A VERY LARGE COUNTRY CLUB HERE IN COLORADO. THIS MORNING HE TOOK A TUB OF CHILI TO WORK FOR THE OTHER COOKS TO TASTE AND DECIDE IF THEY ARE GOING TO CHANGE THEIR RECIPE AT THE CLUB TO THIS ONE!!! NOW THAT'S SAYING SOMETHING!!! I WENT WITH THE RECIPE THE LETTER HOWEVER I FORGOT TO GET POTATOES. I WISH NOW THAT I HAD DOUBLED THE RECIPE BECAUSE THERE IS ONLY 3 CUPS LEFT FORM LASTNITE! GREAT JOB ALL RECIPES!!!! THANKS FROM GAIL SCHEIDT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
im from new mexico and this is just like the chili we have always made . very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States