Roasted Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Excellent. Highly recommended. I lived in Santa Fe, NM for 13 years and can attest to the fact that this stuff is the "real McCoy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I'm from Albuquerque and make this stew often. I have used Hatch green chiles from the can (last choice) or the Bueno frozen chopped green chiles to make this easier. You can vary this by using beef broth and no serranos. It is a very forgiving recipe. I've even used ground meat in a pinch. Best served with flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Wow, was this ever good! I used Bueno frozen roasted chilies as someone else suggested and beef broth because I didn't have vegetable broth. Served it with cooked pinto beans and flour tortillas. Absolutely wonderful! Will definitely make again and again. Reminds us of the pork green chili stew from a small Mexican restaurant where we used to live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
One of our all-time favorites!!! Delicious!!! We serve this with sour cream and grated cheddar on top...and warm tortillas with honey butter on the side- a match made in heaven!!!! Go green chiles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
You could get away with using only 1lb of the chilies - I didn't care for this dish very much, my honey liked it but he too thought there were too many chilies even for something called green chile stew... I thought it was bland - go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Very good soup! We used chicken instead of pork and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
My husband thought that it was to mild. Delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I love spicy food but this is way too spicy. I used only a pound of anaheim chiles. It was quite a dissapointment in flavor as it didn't quite tasted like the one we used to have at the rstaurant we frequent. It was kind of bland flavor-wise. I just ran to the store to get something else to fix for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I used Pueblo peppers instead of Anaheims. It turned out really spicy, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Tasted like I was back eating on the farm in Espanola, NM. I changed a bit and have tried with both ground beef or ground Turkey. Both equaly good. Beef was just as rich as using pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States