Roasted Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This stew is awesome! I doubled the broth, and still had to add a little water. I doubled the pork because my husband is a big meat eater. I also didn't have any roma tomatoes on hand, so I used a can of mild rotel. Excellent consistancy and flavor. I actually forgot to add salt, but it really doesn't need it!! I thought I had a killer chile recipe, but this one gives me a nice 2nd option!! I would definitally recommend this! For the chiles I used roasted anahiems that I purchased from a roadside vendor and had in my freezer. Also, didn't have any "mexican" oregano, so I just used regular oregano, and increased my cumin to 1 1/2 tsp - because I like cumin!! Thanks for the recipe, I'll make it again soon, I'm sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Fantastic find, I made a triple batch five days ago and have been eating it for lunch ever since. I rarely follow recipes exactly but this one is excellent as-is, a great stew for a warm day. My only changes were to use half Anaheims, half Poblanos, to use half vege and half chicken broth and to use half pork, half chicken for the meat. This is an all-afternoon affair, don't skimp on the ingredients. Fire up the grill, crack a beer and grill the fresh peppers - you'll be glad you did. I would advise that you make sure the potatoes are getting tender before you add the peppers and tomatoes. I might skip the potatoes altogether next time and add some corn and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This recipe was excellent! I was born in Santa Fe, but I haven't had green chile stew since I was 10, so I don't quite remember how it's supposed to taste, but this was pretty darn tasty. I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars only because I wish there was less broth, but that's the whole point of the stew right?....not really the recipe's fault. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
you didnt say precisely at what point to add other ingredience...break it down pa'tna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe, and got rave reviews last year. This year, I'm having red chili and this stew to warm up a sizable group after a Christmas Fun Run. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was so delicious. I couldnt get enough of it. Very spicey and flavorful. A nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
my hubby is from NM and loved this! we also bring frozen green chile back from NM ... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I took this recipe to a chili cook off and won!!! The only change is that I omitted the oregano as I am not a fan. I am a New Mexican no longer living in New Mexico but I get a supply of frozen green chili every year at harvest time and it is sooooo worth the trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
im from new mexico and this is just like the chili we have always made . very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
We thought it was okay....I'd like to try it again w/less chilies - it was a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States