Roasted Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Really, really, really good! I just went with the anaheims (omitted the serranos), and it was perfectly spicy (just enough to make you sweat, but not be overbearing). Awesome. Need to double the recipe next time... I only wish we could get the hatch (NM) peppers in Michigan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Amazing! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritoburito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Family loved it, I used NM greenchile, veg broth, potatoes, and enchilada pork sauce. Next time I will have some sour cream for topping and tortillas for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Excellent flavor but do be careful (like other reviewers mentioned) with the heat level. I used a 30oz bag of frozen chiles from the market based on another reviewer who used 3 130z tubs of Bueno. My first batch was waaaay too hot so the next day I made another batch without the chiles and added it to the first batch. I didn't use serranos in either batch and it still ended up hot as hell. Delicious flavor with quite a kick. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLISKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is amazing. Thank u so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaMii21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Here's an option. Leave out the potatoes & just make the green chili. Use it to "smother" enchiladas, burritos, scrambled eggs, etc. I live in CO and going to the farms on the Mesa east of Pueblo is a tradition. You can get your chiles freshly roasted, bagged and smell them on the ride home. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Soooo good! I thought I had already found our green chile stew recipe, but thiswas excellent! I though the hubs was going to lick the pot! Followed recipe to a T except I used chicken broth and added a can of pinto beans to make it a little more hearty. I ate mine with a squirt of lime juice and spinkle of chopped cilantro - DH had his over leftover white rice. This will be a staple this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I'm not a wimp when it comes to heat, but I found that the serranos were a little too much for this recipe, distracting from the taste of a great stew. Still I loved it. I added a can of hominy to the recipe. It was OK, but the next time I make it, I will leave it out along with the serranos. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was very good! I was lucky enough to find some roasted hatch chiles here in So. Cal.and decided to use this recipe. I did have to change it up a bit due to what I had on hand. I used chicken instead of pork, chicken broth, Rotel instead of tomatoes. I also used 2 cans of Northern beans instead of potatoes. Threw everything in the crock pot and cooked on high for 5 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This stew is awesome! I doubled the broth, and still had to add a little water. I doubled the pork because my husband is a big meat eater. I also didn't have any roma tomatoes on hand, so I used a can of mild rotel. Excellent consistancy and flavor. I actually forgot to add salt, but it really doesn't need it!! I thought I had a killer chile recipe, but this one gives me a nice 2nd option!! I would definitally recommend this! For the chiles I used roasted anahiems that I purchased from a roadside vendor and had in my freezer. Also, didn't have any "mexican" oregano, so I just used regular oregano, and increased my cumin to 1 1/2 tsp - because I like cumin!! Thanks for the recipe, I'll make it again soon, I'm sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States