Roasted Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Really simple and tastey. Use really fresh green beans. Made several times and like better using Balsamic rather than red wine vinegar. I have made countless times and found that you do not pre-cook/boil the green beans before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was really good. I used thin sliced red onion and minced garlic from the jar. I sprinkled a little kosher salt and some cracked black pepper and drizzled the olive oil over top. I did use the red wine vinegar and it was very tasty, it didn't overpower the green beans. I think either way you go - red wine or balsamic depending on your tastes this is a nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very easy and very tasty. I also used Balsamic vinegar. Will definitely make a gain. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Getting ready to make these again tonight so i thought i better rate it! I skip the boiling too. Nice change from regular green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Sorry, this wasn't very good. I followed the cooking instructions to the minute, and the green beans ended up overcooked, limp and grayish. I really think the boiling is unnecessary. I have to admit that I had some reservations about the double-cooking from the get-go, but I liked the idea of the onions and vinegar and I have this thing about making recipes as written the first time. I still think that roasting (completely raw) green beans and onions with a little olive oil, s&p and vinegar would make a delicious side dish, but it would also be a completely different dish from this one. Sorry - two stars for the idea, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Delicious! I used balsamic vinaigrette rather than red wine vinegar since that's what I had. I'll definitely make this again. I love roasted veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Pretty good. I left out the red wine vinegar. You definitely don't need to boil a vegetable before you roast it. The roasting *is* the cooking process. You can take any veggie, like carrots, potatoes, tomatoes, squash, etc. and put it straight into the oven to roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These were okay- Used balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I thought it was really great, my family loved it. I will be cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
It was really simple, and with the addition of salt and pepper it achieved four-star status, though I had to think about that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States