Roasted Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Really simple and tastey. Use really fresh green beans. Made several times and like better using Balsamic rather than red wine vinegar. I have made countless times and found that you do not pre-cook/boil the green beans before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was really good. I used thin sliced red onion and minced garlic from the jar. I sprinkled a little kosher salt and some cracked black pepper and drizzled the olive oil over top. I did use the red wine vinegar and it was very tasty, it didn't overpower the green beans. I think either way you go - red wine or balsamic depending on your tastes this is a nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very easy and very tasty. I also used Balsamic vinegar. Will definitely make a gain. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Getting ready to make these again tonight so i thought i better rate it! I skip the boiling too. Nice change from regular green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Sorry, this wasn't very good. I followed the cooking instructions to the minute, and the green beans ended up overcooked, limp and grayish. I really think the boiling is unnecessary. I have to admit that I had some reservations about the double-cooking from the get-go, but I liked the idea of the onions and vinegar and I have this thing about making recipes as written the first time. I still think that roasting (completely raw) green beans and onions with a little olive oil, s&p and vinegar would make a delicious side dish, but it would also be a completely different dish from this one. Sorry - two stars for the idea, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Delicious! I used balsamic vinaigrette rather than red wine vinegar since that's what I had. I'll definitely make this again. I love roasted veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Pretty good. I left out the red wine vinegar. You definitely don't need to boil a vegetable before you roast it. The roasting *is* the cooking process. You can take any veggie, like carrots, potatoes, tomatoes, squash, etc. and put it straight into the oven to roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These were okay- Used balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I thought it was really great, my family loved it. I will be cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
It was really simple, and with the addition of salt and pepper it achieved four-star status, though I had to think about that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States