Roasted Grapes and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I love carrots, and I love onions, and I love grapes, but this combo just didn't work for me. Individually the items were okay once salted(the roasted grapes were quite good), but together they seemed not to pair well. I am usually a very adventurous cook, but I will never make this again...before making my own final judgement though, I asked my husband and teenage children to try it and they all had the same reaction as I did. I actually threw it all away and started from scratch to make a different carrot dish to take to Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Fantastic. I made a couple of revisions: I didn't have any grapes, so I used raisins, and I added about 1/2 cup of chopped onion, and a little basil on top. It was very tasty (of course, I never met a carrot I didn't like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deedee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This is a fantastic side dish. The combination sounded so weird that I just had to try it but it turned out beautifully. I too did a quick pre-cook on the carrots and everything roasted to a nice doneness. It tastes delicious and is quite beautiful to look at, too. Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Everyone liked this even though it was a bit unusual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe, though an odd combination, is delicious. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and pre-cooked the carrots and increased the cumin. I would also agree that it takes more than 15 minutes at 350 degrees to cook. All in all, I would highly recommend this as a different vegetable that is not only good to eat but healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Sorry, I did not like this at all. I love Indian food and grapes but am not a huge carrot fan - still I expected this to taste good and it just did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I made this recipe for my crowd and they all liked it. We did decide that it should have a little more cumin and maybe we will try adding something else with it next time for more zip. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I did just the grapes and carrots (no onions) and LOVE it. It's been great as a warm nibble for parties and gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Very easy to make. Took the advice of others and pre-cooked the carrots before roasting. Seemed like an odd combination to me but it was very tasty. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
5+ for taste but I would rate it 1 for cooking instructions. There is no waaaay that you can roast carrots (even baby ones - which I used)at 375 degrees for 20 min. I followed the recipe exactly until it came to the roasting time - I steamed the carrots for 5 minutes - then I roasted all the veggies in a well preheated 500 degree oven for 20 min. I cut the recipe to serve 4 people - a mistake - Ron and I ate it all in one sitting! Fellow chefs you must try this one!!! So different. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States