Roasted Grapes and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
5+ for taste but I would rate it 1 for cooking instructions. There is no waaaay that you can roast carrots (even baby ones - which I used)at 375 degrees for 20 min. I followed the recipe exactly until it came to the roasting time - I steamed the carrots for 5 minutes - then I roasted all the veggies in a well preheated 500 degree oven for 20 min. I cut the recipe to serve 4 people - a mistake - Ron and I ate it all in one sitting! Fellow chefs you must try this one!!! So different. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Outstanding! I would never have thought of this on my own. I cut the baby carrots into thirds and boiled them until barely tender. Then I mixed them with the grapes, onion, cumin and olive oil. I also added a little sea salt before baking the mix for about 10 minutes. The grapes still had some pop to them and the onions were done. I sprinkled some fresh parsley on top and it looked beautiful. The perfect fall side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Good but I think the cooking time could do with some adjustment. The baby carrots took about 30 mins to really soften, by which time some of the grapes and onion had burned. Next time I'll add them after 15 mins, so that they keep a little bit of bite. But thanks for a nice recipe, Matt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
It was pretty good. Better than anyone expected. I cut the carrots into thirds and pre-boiled them for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Fantastic. I made a couple of revisions: I didn't have any grapes, so I used raisins, and I added about 1/2 cup of chopped onion, and a little basil on top. It was very tasty (of course, I never met a carrot I didn't like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deedee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I was so excited to try this recipe, but unfortunatley, it was not very good. My husband and I are adventurous eaters, but we just didn't think the flavors went together very well. I'm not sure what went wrong. Sigh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
What an outstanding recipe! This was so easy to create with only five ingredients and no prep work. I added some fresh ground black pepper as well as some sea salt. It was tremendous, beautiful to look at and a wonderful accompaniment to our steak this evening. Cannot wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I wish I would have read the other reviews before I made this. The carrots were way under-done. The grapes were delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is gorgeous - and so quick and easy. We had a dinner party last night, and my husband went shopping for me yesterday morning - but could only find a mixed pack of vegetables - baby carrots, sweet corn and asparagus. So I put the sweet corn in with the carrots - and it worked really well. Everyone was most impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I love carrots, and I love onions, and I love grapes, but this combo just didn't work for me. Individually the items were okay once salted(the roasted grapes were quite good), but together they seemed not to pair well. I am usually a very adventurous cook, but I will never make this again...before making my own final judgement though, I asked my husband and teenage children to try it and they all had the same reaction as I did. I actually threw it all away and started from scratch to make a different carrot dish to take to Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States