Roasted Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Easy and delicious. Ended up cooking it a little longer than 30 minutes, maybe about 40 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I think they might of had to cook it longer bcz of the amount they cooked. I just cooked 1 head in a small stone crock and didn't do any thing except pour some olive oil over it. Baked it at 350 deg set my timer for 45 min and it was squishy & ready in 25 minutes. To get a more roasted taste I will leave it in another 10 min or until it has that crispy look on the edge of the clove. I don't think you should cut or open any of the cloves bcz of dryness that can occur. Next time I will add sprigs of fresh rosemary so that will roast in the olive oil too! Then have roasted garlic and roasted rosemary paste for bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I wish I had more than 2 cloves of garlic when I did this. It was so good I used one head just on garlic bread & stored the other for later. I used the tent method, cut the ends off & drizzled with olive oil. 400 degrees & about 50 minutes later & the garlic had a nice roasted golden color. Next time I'll make enough to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I have made roasted garlic using this simple method many times. It can be roasted at any temperature from 300 to 400 F. Just adjust the time until it is soft and done. I buy 10 pounds of organically grown garlic from a local farmer every Fall and roast the whole batch. I then freeze it 6 buds in a bag. It lasts all winter and is great in soups, stew, garlic bread etc. So handy and more mellow-flavoured than raw garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Definitely cut the bottoms off of these to make squeezing out the garlic easy. This is so good and can be put on anything, from sandwiches to a steak! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I roasted 18 bulbs, let them cool then squeezed them out. I spread them on a cookie sheet so they can freeze separately and put them all in a freezer safe container so when I want some I can take out as many or few as I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe, but I rated it a three-star because I think it can be more flavorful and easier to make. Use larger heads of garlic and take off the tops to expose the cloves as another reviewer said. Cut some sheets of aluminum foil with generous overlap. Place them in muffin pans and place the garlic in the foil. Pour olive oil on top; be generous. Then sprinkle some kosher salt (or regular salt if you don't have kosher in the pantry). Also sprinkle some pepper on the garlic. Now pull in the sides of the foil and wrap the garlic. Place in the oven at 375 for about 35 minutes. Pull out of the oven and unwrap each bulb. I then use a very pointy knife and put it in each clove. If it goes through easily, it's done. Use the foil to lift out of the muffin pan to set aside and put the bulbs that are NOT done back in the oven, rewrapped, a few more minutes. Let cool about 10 minutes and have fun squeezing the bulbs out of skins. Great not only for spreading on bread, but also for putting in dishes at the end of cooking for the garlic touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tn_mama
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made this by cutting the tops off the garlic heads and roasted them slathered in olive oil with the cut side down on a foil lined cookie sheet. Once roasted, I mixed with fresh creamery butter and it was so good on thin toasted French bread slices. If you aren't planning on mixing it with something else, add a bit of salt and pepper. A hit and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Tried the idea of using a cupcake tray and alum. foil, 375 for 40 mins. I used a generous amount of olive oil and a dash of pepper on the exposed ends after I had cut the tips off, then folded the foil over them enclosing them. They came out pretty burnt and the bulk were inedible. We mixed them into some butter to try on toast and it was so-so at best. May try again, lower heat and less time. Overall I'd say it was one of my few failed recipes off this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Not a huge fan of this recipe. I have made roasted garlic several times before but I cut the tops as many other reviewers have suggested so I thought since this was different I would give it a try. I had the same problem as other reviewers and mine burned. I would highly suggest cutting the tops as I have always done and other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States