Roasted Garlic Tyrokavteri Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I made this for my daughters Greek event at her school. It's better than the usual hummus dip. I roasted the bell peppers since I had to roast 2 bulbs of garlic anyways. Adjust the lemon juice for your liking. I also realized later that I bought a 6oz container of feta instead of an 8oz. In case you're wondering about the pricing (ok, I'm just bored), I went to trader joes and got these: feta-$2.79, cream cheese brick-$1.69, mini pita-$1.99
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fractalmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Very yummy dip, but I would recommend cutting down on the lemon juice (I used about half the written amount). This was great with toasted pita chips. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and for once, didn't read the other reviews. When I was done the dip was wayyyyyyyyy too lemony. I mean, totally inedible, and I love lemon. So I tried to fix it by doubling feta, cream cheese, peppers.... didn't work. Don't even think I am going to serve it and I'm kind of annoyed since it's not really the cheapest dip to make with all the cheese and peppers! Oh well, live and learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except I had to sub lime juice for the lemon & I took another reviewer's suggestion and used 2 heaping tbsp of minced garlic from a jar (because that's what I had on hand). Next time I may use just 2 regular tbsp instead of heaping just to tone down the garlic a little (I know, it's a garlic dip, but I was hoping to taste more of the roasted red peppers) IF I don't roast my own garlic - which would probably boost this review to 5 stars. I processed until smooth & creamy - so much so that it didn't look like our fave Greek restaurant's Tyrokavteri but it still tasted delicious. A lot of people on here didn't add the cream, I tried it before then added the cream and I think it takes a bit of the bitterness off from the garlic, so I would suggest sticking to the recipe especially if you aren't roasting your own garlic (which is sweeter & less bitter than from a jar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Pretty awesome! My favorite greek place makes it with roasted red peppers and cherry peppers, so I omitted the red pepper sauce and added about 5 ping pong ball sized jarred cherry peppers. I also found mine creamy enough that I didn't add any olive oil or cream. I really thought this was great and will definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnrebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This dip is so flavorful! I didn't have the patience to roast the peppers in the oven so I actually threw the them on my george forman which worked perfectly! Just cut them into 1/8ths so they would get flat and let them go for 15 minutes! It may not be a traditional roasted red pepper but I thought they tasted fantastic!! I read the other reviews and cut back on the lemon juice to about half what's called for. I didn't have any tobasco but I did manage to put in WAY too much pepper. Still entirely delicious. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was really good. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used less lemon juice. I only used 4 tablespoons. I roasted fresh red peppers rather than using store bought jar peppers. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was so easy to make and was a big hit! I brought the left overs to work and my co-worker is in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I thought this was ok I would give it 3.5 stars. If you love feta you will love this dip. I thought it needed a little more dimension to the flavor. Maybe a little more oregano and regular garlic along with the roasted?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States