Roasted Garlic Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Smooth and rich. I was concerned about the garlic taste combined with the sweetness of the sweet potatoes, but they go together well. The cayenne pepper adds warmth as you eat them. This will become a Thanksgiving favorite for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Even though I don't like sweet potatoes, this recipe sounded so interesting I had to try it. It was surprisingly good, and the only sweet potatoes I've ever actually liked! I was a little concerned about the large amount of garlic, and even though they are garlicky it wasn't overkill. I didn't add the cayenne pepper because of my small children, but I bet it would have tasted good. Very creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My husband and I have both been put off by sweet potatoes our entire lives due to everyone always adding lots of extra sugar. I knew there had to be something out there that would make a savory sweet potato dish, and dag nabit, this is it! The dish is still sweet, but thankfully not overbearingly so. We added some prepared creamy horseradish and some fresh grated parm to the top before popping it into the oven, but otherwise did everything to spec. Next time will omit the cream cheese and add a little chicken broth. We will be makeing this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very good!My boyfriend loves sweet potatoes but I had never made them. This was my frist time. I didnt have cream cheese so I left that out,didnt seem like it was missing anything.This recipe was a hit! Thanks we will be makin this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I followed the start of the recipe closely, only adding fresh ground pepper and sea salt before "roasting". When I went to mash them, I decreased the cream cheese just a bit and added one more tbsp. of butter. I thought these were quite good, though very rich. I served this with Kielbasa and Cabbage, which was a nice pair-up. The roasting really took the dish up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These are good - and garlicky!. Depending on the size of your sweet potatoes, you may want to add the sour cream slowly. Mine got a little looser than I bargained for. The cayenne is a nice touch, but go easy unless you know you love it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Superb! These potatoes were absolutely wonderful, and met my expectations. We enjoyed the combination of the sweetness of the potatoes, and the strong garlic flavor, complimented by the heat and spice of the seasonings. I wasn't sure about trying to peel the potatoes after baking, so I peeled them first, and wrapped each one in foil. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thank you Kelly for introducing me to some unique ideas I never would have thought of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
It may sound like an odd combination, but it's delicious. You can cut down on calories by using reduced fat or fat free cream cheese or sour cream. Use fresh pressed garlic for sure. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
It's a savory sweet potato dish unlike the traditional sweet potato casseroles with cinnamon & sugar. It was not my absolute favorite dish, but it was a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States