Roasted Garlic Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I didn't follow instructions well and I'm betting this could have been better but the combination is very nice... adds alot of interest to an otherwise rather uninteresting veggie. Probably a 5 star as written. To summarize, the flavors work well together. I steamed the potatoes, along with the minced garlic, as though doing mashed potatoes. Then added butter, sour cream, salt and tabasco sauce and blended to the consistency of mashed potatoes. Very good. My family would not do the marshmallow or brown sugar versions of sweet potato. This worked well for us. Don't follow my recipe. Just know that, though an odd sounding combination, it really works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
A good beginning however we felt the cream cheese (and to an extent the sour cream) was overpowering. It was difficult to taste the sweet potato. Were I to make this again I would make these more along the lines of regular garlic mashed potatoes...we'd not use the cream cheese or sour cream and instead would use heavy cream or even buttermilk. The cayenne was a good touch so we'd keep that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I didnt see this recipe until after I had already cut up the sweet potatoes and placed in a pan of water and two cloves of garlic. I boiled them as if I was making garlic mashed potatoes. I followed the recipe from there but did not add the cayenne pepper. I wisb I hsd allong with one more clove garluc. It was a nice different way of eating sweet potatoes. I also added fresh parm cheese on top on my plate. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I had made this for Thanksgiving since I don't care for sugary sweet potatoes. It is very good but as it sits for any length of time the garlic becomes too overpowering even when I cut the amount of garlic in half. And I am a garlic lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Made this as the directions instruct and found them to be really heavy. Made second time without sour cream and cream cheese. SO SO SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I omitted the cream cheese and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great idea, way too much garlic. I cut the recipe in half: two sweet potatoes and one head of garlic. I honestly could barely taste the potatoes through the overwhelming garlic. I'll try this one again but I'll use three or four sweet potatoes per head of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was a good change from your typical cinnamon spiced, sugar laden mashed sweet potatoes. The flavor was very nice, albeit a tad on the rich side. When I make this again, I'll cut back a bit on the sour cream. 3/4 cup was a bit too much for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
It's a savory sweet potato dish unlike the traditional sweet potato casseroles with cinnamon & sugar. It was not my absolute favorite dish, but it was a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
It may sound like an odd combination, but it's delicious. You can cut down on calories by using reduced fat or fat free cream cheese or sour cream. Use fresh pressed garlic for sure. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States