Roasted Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
The recipe calls for creamy potato soup -- NOT cream of potato. The soup is Campbell's select, and blends quite nicely in the blender. I added additional roasted garlic and cream -- delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I used regular potato soup and added fresh garlic. I also used the food processor slicer to make equally thin slices of potatoes. The thicker the slices the longer it takes to bake. The thicker slices of potato may not cook long enough so try to make them the same thickness. The thinly sliced potatoes baked perfectly in the seventy minutes the recipe called for. One other BIG tip is to lightly grease the baking dish for easy clean up! This is a quick, easy and TASTY recipe that even a rookie like myself can make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Great for a prime rib dinner. I used this recipe for my Christmas Eve dinner. I couldn't find the potato and garlic soup so I had to use Mushroom and garlic soup. The mushroom soup was brown so it changed the appearance of the dish I'm sure. I tripled this recipe for 20 dinnner guests. We had leftovers that were later devoured before the night was over. I had to cover the dish with foil because it was browning too quickly. That may be because I made such a large pan of the potatoes. I think this dish tastes best if it has a chance to "rest" after coming out of the oven. The potatoes firm up a bit. Will seek out the cream of potato and garlic soup and make this again. A Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Great recipe, only thing I did different was cover the dish for the first 40 mins and then uncovered for the rest, potatoes came out tender and delicious. Very easy to make to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I made this for a pot luck at work the next day. I tasted it right out of the oven and it was fantastic! Unfortunatly, it didn't warm up well the next day, and I was embarrassed at how it looked. My fault... I should have known better. If you love garlic, you have to try this, but it is NOT a make-ahead recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
I didn't have any cream of potato with roasted garlic so I just added some minced garlic to the soup mix. I was a little skeptical when mixing b/c it was so thick I was worried it wouldn't cook all the potatoes but after stirring a couple times, it turned out fine. I also added extra cheese at the end. Very good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Yummmmmmmmy! The only thing I would do differently next time is cook it a little longer, the potatoes weren't quite as tender as I would have liked. But the flavor was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
These got four stars only because my darling daughter loved them, well, her and the dog did. If I do make them again, I will just use the regular cream of potato soup & add garlic, the whole soup thing was a pain in the rear. Don't get me wrong, they weren't horrible, but I've had better. I used my food processor to slice the potatoes & they were perfectly thin & tender. Thanks Vicki ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This recipe was fairly easy. I could not find the correct soup, so I used Cream of Potato, and added minced garlic. The recipe calls to bake for only 70 minutes, however it took slightly over 2 hours to get the potatoes the way I like them. But they were very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States