Roasted Garlic Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Thought this was was really good. I think it would be even better the longer it sat but it didn't have time to sit very long before it was all gone. Even my son the picky eater ate 2 bowls. Personally i didnt put it in a blender til smooth. I used a potato masher, left everything in the pot and mashed it up some in the pot. I used larger chunks of potato so i was able to just mash those up into smaller ones. Topped it off with light cheddar, bacon bits and chives. I didnt hold any of the potatos back in reserve. I didnt even use any oil as it said to do so i could cut the fat count down further. Great recipe and great base for other things. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This is a really good base for a soup, and I was surprised that with so few ingredients it had such a good flavor. I used red potatoes (leaving the skins on for a nice color), roasted the garlic with them, and sprinkled some oregano and salt in with the pepper and olive oil. I used red onions also. At first, the soup was quite a bit thinner than I normally like my cream soups, but I was able to solve this by simply adding in the potatoes I had reserved. For this I just used a hand mixer (not a blender) to keep some of the chunks in tact, and garnished with shredded parmesan and crumbled bacon. Overall, I was pleased. I'm even looking forward to leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annersmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I thought this was pretty good and would make it again. I used red potatoes and didn't peel them, because I'm lazy and who likes peeling potatoes anyway?! =) The peels mixed right in after the trip through the blender, and they gave a little color to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
this is a pretty good recipe. i will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
A little thinner than i like my cream soups. And i didn't add the water with the broth at the end. Good flavor but it needs something. I will keep working on it. It is a good starter base for a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
My husband won't shut up about how much he loves this recipe. It is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Tasted great, but needed to be thinned out tons!! It was like mashed potatos. I'd say add at least 5-10 cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This soup was just alright! It was ridiculously thick and i could only eat a half bowl after adding more water to it! Probably won't make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This soup was prety good. Very easy to make. I followed the recipe as instructed, but I omited the milk (we don't drink milk) and the taste was good. I think it will taste better tomorrow for left overs once the falvours have more time to settle. I used white potatoes and left the peel on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Loaded with flavor. Easy up on the milk for garlic mashpotatoes, then add milk to any leftovers to complete this as a soup. Nice and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States