Roasted Garlic Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is a great soup for such a simple recipe! It's even easier when using the potato masher instead of a blender (less clean-up, too). I always end up using at least 4 cups of chicken broth, but it's really up to your preference for how thick you want your soup. Definitely roast your garlic in the pan with the potatoes (I always throw in a couple more cloves than called for). Also, I like to sprinkle some oregano or thyme on the potatoes & garlic mix before roasting for additional flavor. I've done this recipe with peeled potatoes and with skin-on and it comes out great either way. When we have leftover ham, adding it to this soup really kicks it up a notch. Serve w/ homemade garlic parmesan bread. Yummy!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I made a vegan version of this recipe (Using veggie broth & plain soy milk). With those changes, I thought this made a wonderful soup. Thanks for posting the recipe, I'm looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Gooey mess until I added extra milk. We ate it once, the rest went to waste in the fridge. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I'm not sure if the potatoes I used were too big but I ended up needing 4 cups of broth and 2 cups of milk in order to get a texture more like soup than mashed potatoes. With those changes however it was excellent! Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
As suggested I roasted the garlic along with the potatoes. I used half and half because I was out of milk. I did let it sit overnight and we had it the next day, with salad and crusty bread. Very Tasty event he 5 yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PalermoFamily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This soup had great flavor. The only problem I had was the extra potatoes didn't get bakeed long enough. They were somewhat hard. I will lengthen the baking time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Really Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
My boyfriend and I LOVED this soup. It definitely requires all of the liquid that's listed in the recipe. At first I tried using only 2 cups of chicken broth (1 can) and it was too much like mashed potatoes. I added the other cup and it created a great, thick soup. Also, roast the garlic WITH the potatoes. Will be adding a dollop of sour cream and some bacon bits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Made this with already roasted garlic--just tossed in a number of cloves. It's very good, but I think I'd add ham or bacon next time. I used smaller red potatoes and halved the recipe, so used 6 potatoes. I don't have a blender but I used my trusty food processor and it was fine. Although I generally like larger chunks of potato, I actually wasn't a fan of putting the reserved potatoes on top; didn't like the chunks that way. I think I will process it all next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I agree with those who used a potato masher, using a blender turned my soup into a gummy mess! And, it was way too thick. However, the soup had great flavor. I sauted my onion in bacon grease which added a great deal of flavor. In an effort cause a distration to the starch, gummy nature of the soup I added some chorizo sausage. Next time around I will use a potato masher, or force the soup through a tamis to avoid getting such a gummy result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari Trousdale

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States