Roasted Garlic Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I did as the others did and roasted the garlic with the potatoes. Also I added a bay leaf while it simmered. But I did have to add more liquid because after mashing the potatoes, it was more like mashed potatoes..lol. So I added about 2 cups more chicken broth just before adding the milk. It was wonderful though. Just watch how thick it can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Delicious! With a couple adaptations we thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. It took a little longer to roast the potatoes. I added a bay leaf along with the broth. To serve, a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese was added on top of the roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Easy & quick. Variations abound. Increase health factor with small amount of baked cauliflower & a sweet potato completely blended in. Great to chase the Winter chills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Bear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made a vegan double-batch (veggie broth, no milk) and it turned out really well - the potatoes themselves were enough to thicken the soup and it was still surprisingly creamy! Followed other users' advice and roasted the garlic with the potatoes - good choice. I also left the skins on the potatoes and instead of reserving whole cubes for garnish, I just reserved the crackled skins that stuck to the bottom of the roasting pan - delicious!! We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Really good! Roast garlic with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Awesome and EASY!! I used about 8 new potatoes, increased broth to 5 cups and used heavy cream instead of whole milk. Also added a little Cayenne Pepper and this gave it just the kick it needed. Will definitely be making this one again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Really good stuff! My children asked me to make it again. The only thing I am going to change is the blender. I'm just going to mash it with a potato masher instead. The puree from the blender made us all think of mashed potatoes that had too much liquid it them. I guess we prefer something with more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenonymous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Although there wasn't anything wrong w/the recipe my husband and I did not love this. I think it had something to do w/the consistency. If I make it again I would try mashing it instead of blending it like some of the other reviewers. Other than trying that I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is a great soup for such a simple recipe! It's even easier when using the potato masher instead of a blender (less clean-up, too). I always end up using at least 4 cups of chicken broth, but it's really up to your preference for how thick you want your soup. Definitely roast your garlic in the pan with the potatoes (I always throw in a couple more cloves than called for). Also, I like to sprinkle some oregano or thyme on the potatoes & garlic mix before roasting for additional flavor. I've done this recipe with peeled potatoes and with skin-on and it comes out great either way. When we have leftover ham, adding it to this soup really kicks it up a notch. Serve w/ homemade garlic parmesan bread. Yummy!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I made a vegan version of this recipe (Using veggie broth & plain soy milk). With those changes, I thought this made a wonderful soup. Thanks for posting the recipe, I'm looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States