Roasted Garlic Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
It came out great!! Had to remind my husband to only get more if he was hungry: not cuz it was SOOO GOOD! I forgot the Potatoes to set aside, so I'll do that next time! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
SO GOOD. You should definitely roast the garlic and even the onion with the potatoes. I didn't peel my potatoes because I like a more rustic feel. Oh, to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
this recipe is a great base for any kind of potato soup. although i do not have the time to roast my potatoes and garlic still came out good with just a few tweaks. i also like adding peas, carrots and celery thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Good recipe, good flavor... Just not sure what happened to mine. I used 6 potatoes as the recipe calls for, not sure what size potatoes they used, but I used regular bakers. when i added the 3 cups of stock and 1 cup of water it didnt even cover the potatoes ( I did not reserve and for serving) so i added another cup of stock (a whole box of organic stock is 4 cups btw). I also roasted the garlic with the potatoes. After simmering for 20 minutes I used my immersion blender and the consistency was like mashed potatoes, I ended up having to add over 6 cups of water to bring it down to what I would consider a thick chowder (kids compared it to gravy). I also added a bunch of salt, didnt measure, but each time tasted it needed more. I topped it with shredded cheddar, bacon and chives. Could have done without the chives. Flavor was really good though, i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
It's okay. Nothing great. It is, though, fairly easy to make. A good last resort if there's nothing else around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I doubled this recipe. Instead of adding the cup of water, I added another cup of chicken broth. I also added in a good amount of crisp, crumbled bacon and a few spices (dried dill weed, fresh chives, little hot sauce). My family ate this whole pot in two days--we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This soup was amazing! I took the advice of some other reviews and I roasted the garlic cloves with the potatoes, I also used a roasted garlic olive oil to roast the potatoes in, and turned it vegan by using veggie broth and almond milk. My husband who is not vegan said it was my best vegan soup to date :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyorDeath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Awesome soup recipe, I really loved it and I mashed instead of blending...it turned out really great and thick...this simple recipe is worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Added more potatoes and garlic for stronger richer texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States