Roasted Garlic Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This sauce was quite tasty on Gnocchi I. To begin any white sauce, I always cook the butter with the flour for a few minutes to eliminate that floury taste sometimes associated with white sauces, then add the liquid. This sauce thickened a bit more than I wanted, so I thinned it with a splash of white wine. Also, I didn't use measure the peppercorns, just used a few good turns of the pepper mill. Omitted the nutmeg, but used cayenne instead. Very good with freshly grated Parm... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I liked the taste of this--flavorful, but mild. I'd suggest using only 1 Tbsp of flour, since the sauce DOES get rather thick, and pepper instead of peppercorns, since I don't like eating them or picking them out. I sprinkled chicken with lemon pepper seasoning, garlic powder, and onion powder, and baked it in the oven ahead of time, then cut up and put in the sauce after it was done. I served over penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This recipe is fabulous and easy. It is a great garlic base that leaves plenty of room for experimentation. I agree that it asks for way too much peppercorn, I only add about 1/3-1/2, and in my opinion that flavor can be added at the table. I have tried this dish several different ways: firstly, marinade some chicken breasts in Italian dressing and grill, then dice and toss into the pasta (I like to use angel hair) serve with bread, a salad and a nice wine and you have a great date meal. I have also stirred in chopped or whole grilled shrimp, or served it on the side with shrimp scampi as well as steak. For a low fat alternative, I use 2% milk and light cheeses. Just be creative and have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Delicious. Cheated and used jarred roasted garlic as a timesaver. Also used heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
This was great! I served it over Blackened Salmon Fillets (from allrecipes) and chilie flavored pasta. It is worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is superb. Roasting the garlic is key. I usually double the recipe. Also, I cook the flour and butter together first. Very creamy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I had some leftover baked garlic and was looking for a way to use it...this sauce was terrific. So yummy!! Thanks. Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I used this sauce to re-create a dish that I love at a local Italian recipe. I did not roast the garlic, but added less. I also added only 1 Tablespoon of flour. Finally, I used fresh ground pepper instead of the peppercorns. I put the sauce over sauteed chicken, artichoke hearts, sauteed spinach and tomato. I put in about 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese at the end. I served it over gnocchi. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Carroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
What a delicious sauce! I didn't have any nutmeg, but it still turned out wonderful. I served it over linguine with some Cajun grilled chicken. A very versatile sauce...next time we'll try it with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I'm only giving it 3 stars cause if you follow the recipe it doesn't thicken untill it's cooled and it didn't have alot of garlic flavor and the pepper flavor was non existent, but with a few changes it makes a good sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States