Roasted Garlic Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I was very pleased with how this came out. I added 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese and one decent sized chicken breast that was grilled and chopped up. It went great on top of linguine. I will do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney O'Dwyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This recipe is fabulous and easy. It is a great garlic base that leaves plenty of room for experimentation. I agree that it asks for way too much peppercorn, I only add about 1/3-1/2, and in my opinion that flavor can be added at the table. I have tried this dish several different ways: firstly, marinade some chicken breasts in Italian dressing and grill, then dice and toss into the pasta (I like to use angel hair) serve with bread, a salad and a nice wine and you have a great date meal. I have also stirred in chopped or whole grilled shrimp, or served it on the side with shrimp scampi as well as steak. For a low fat alternative, I use 2% milk and light cheeses. Just be creative and have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Way too much pepper! I would half the amount of peppercorns used. We used the exact amount, 1 tablespoon, and found it almost too strong to eat. Otherwise, it was great and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Absolutely scrumptious! Those of you that found this recipe too thick should measure your ingredients very carefully and you will get a perfect smooth, pouring consistency. For example, fill the tablespoon witrh the flour anf cut the surplus off the top with a knife. I poured it into a casserole containing jumbo chicken legs, that I had grilled to brown them and melt off the surplus fat. I then baked it at regulo 4 for an hour. I served it with steamed new potatoes, roast whole tomatoes, roast butternut squash, and minted garden peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This turned into a thick, goopy, milky flavourless mess. I have no idea how it's managed to get 4 stars, but it's lucky to get one from us. Nothing could save this recipe (we added a really nice white wine as others suggested) but the end result just tasted like milky roasted garlic. The only other thing worth mentioning is that it may serve 4 people (as the recipe says) as a side dish, but definitely not as a main dish. Needless to say, we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Excellent! I added chicken seasoned with nutmeg and garlic. Add salad, and it makes a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made this tonight and it was excellent! Only change I made is I put a little of Tony's seasoning in it...give it a little kick! I will make this with chicken next time and some penne pasta! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etters, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
It is just "okay." It would be better if the author would have recommended adding something else in...such as chicken or shrimp. Not a "WOW" sauce by itself with pasta. Definitely worth trying if you're going to vary it up quite a bit. I agree with most others-quite thick. Maybe it's to hide the chunkiness of the garlic???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very creamy and very spicy. I used less than the suggested amount of ground peppercorn, and it was still a touch too heated. But there was lots of soothing creamy sweetness from the garlic, and with the right amount of peppercorn this could be a five star sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Excellent! Mild Garlic taste with a whole lot of health from a whole bulb! Loved it! Even my toddlers ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States