Roasted Garlic Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This recipe was good. As mentioned by other reviewers, cook the butter and flour together first, then add milk. I found that 1 head of garlic only yielded a slight garlic flavor. Next time, I will roast 2 heads and try that. My husband who is typically not a fan of cream sauces liked this because of the heat from the peppercorns (I added extra to satisfy him). The kids did not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
WAAAAAY too much garlic! We had to quadruple the other ingredients in order make the garlic not over power everything else. Will not be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I'm only giving it 3 stars cause if you follow the recipe it doesn't thicken untill it's cooled and it didn't have alot of garlic flavor and the pepper flavor was non existent, but with a few changes it makes a good sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
THANK YOU for sharing this recipe!!! So simple and o-so awesome!!! I modified it slightly, as I didn't have a whole head of garlic to roast. I sauteed 4-5 big gloves in butter, then added the rest of the ingredients to the sauteed garlic: 2 T butter, flour whisked in milk, pepper and salt, until thick. I tossed the sauce with rotini pasta and roasted veggies: cauliflower, carrots, zucchini, onion and garlic, and LOVED the results!!!! Thank you, again, for sharing! This will definitely be my "go to" white sauce recipe!!! xxoo Jen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This sauce was very, very good. I made it with pasta and hot Italian sausage. The only change I would make to the recipe is to significantly reduce the amount of peppercorns, to at least a teaspoon. I love pepper and stuff that's made spicy with black pepper, but in this sauce it completely overpowers the garlic. So, if you want to taste the garlic in your Garlic Peppercorn Sauce, I would be very sparing with the peppercorns, or maybe even use a small amount of freshly-ground black pepper. Other than that, we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohevshalomel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We liked it and will make it again. I added parmesean cheese to half of it to see if we liked that addition. We liked it a little better with the parm added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Davis-Rokusek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I used this sauce to re-create a dish that I love at a local Italian recipe. I did not roast the garlic, but added less. I also added only 1 Tablespoon of flour. Finally, I used fresh ground pepper instead of the peppercorns. I put the sauce over sauteed chicken, artichoke hearts, sauteed spinach and tomato. I put in about 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese at the end. I served it over gnocchi. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Definitely rich. But while I love spicy sauces, I thought this called for way too much peppercorn and not enough salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I love this recipe. The only thing I do different is, I don't add the the nutmeg. Instead, I add some crushed red pepper for a little heat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is superb. Roasting the garlic is key. I usually double the recipe. Also, I cook the flour and butter together first. Very creamy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States