Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
These were really good. To save a little time I use minced garlic in a jar and put it in a bowl with the olive oil then put it in the microwave for 45 sec. instead of the oven. I have done this on another recipe and it turns out great. I made these for Thanksgiving and everybody loved them. They taste just like some you get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Ok, after making this side dish many times I have perfected it. 6 Cloves tossed in olive oil just to coat. Into the broiler for a few mins., well just till they brown. Meanwhile I peeled and cubed 6 medium potatoes. Into boiling water for aprox. 15 - 20 mins OR until you stick a fork into the largest potatoe and it breaks only once. I then drain and into a bowl. I add approx. 2/3 cup of milk. I then add pressed roasted garlic. Don't worry about the left over larger pieces that are in the press. The hand held mixer will beat it up. Added a few minches of salt. Then I added 3 tablespoons of marjorine. Blend it well. Last but not least I added a tablespoon of garlic spread marjorine. OMG it was to die for!!! WOW all around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
First let me tell you what I didn't like about this recipe. It tells you to cook the potatoes until "tender, but firm." What does that mean??? It's not like I can reach my hand in a pot of simmer water and feel the potatoes! So I guestimated 20 minutes. It came out a little mushier than I like it, so I think a time range would have helped. Also, there's not enough garlic cloves. Not much garlic flavor to this garlic mashed potatoes. I recommend doubling the garlic...probaly a whole head. Also, 45 minutes cooking in olive oil is too much. Cooked all the flavor away! I think about 25 minutes would have sufficed. And that's why I'm only giving it 4 out of 5 stars. Now onto the good stuff. I added 4 oz of cream cheese to the mix too to give it an extra creamy flavor and texture and cut back a little on the milk. I also added some garlic salt (about a tablespoon) to compensate for the nonexistent garlic flavor. I also spooned it into a baking dish, topped it with cheddar cheese and paprika and baked it for about 15 minutes on 350 degrees. It came out pretty well after I compensated for the overdone potatoes and the nonexistent garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Different flavor for mash potatoes, but definitley good! Did have to add additional butter and milk as the potatoes were quite dry as written.... For a unique twist add the small purple flower from the society garlic plant which is edible, gives color and a stronger garlic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I roasted a whole head of garlic (unpeeled, and then squeezed them out after they cooled) and used a mix of Yukon Golds and Reds....I prefer them over baking potatoes any day. I also used whole milk (which I never do) and these potatoes were smashing! Lol! My only complaint is that I couldn't really taste the parm. cheese, so I may just leave that out next time. Very tasty, light and fluffy taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Really great potatoes, but as stated, might be bland. I used 4 large russets, to start. Instead of roasting the garlic the way the recipe states, I used an entire head of garlic, chopped off the top so that some of the cloves were showing, placed it on foil, and drizzled it with olive oil. I then roasted the garlic for a half an hour at 350. I used twice the amount of butter and twice the Parmesean. I squeezed the entire head of garlic into the mash, and viola! Deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Yum! I roasted my garlic for 20 minutes in 1/2 the olive oil required (I thought that it was a bit much). I also added nearly a cup of milk, (because we like them creamy). Make sure you buy the larger garlic bulbs if you are looking for more garlic flavor, and maybe leave the skins on 1/2 of the potatoes as the previous reviewer suggested. I put these in my crockpot to keep them warm and they were the perfect consistancy. I got rave reviews on these! Thanks Barrett!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
These were really good. The only problem I had was this...I roasted the garlic for only 30 minutes, and it burned to a crisp...I would really recommend cutting down the roasting time. Since I didn't have any more fresh garlic, and it would have taken too long to roast some more anyway, I just used some minced garlic from a jar, and they turned out really yummy anyway. Next time I'll roast the garlic for about 15-20 minutes and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Yeah, this recipe is a definite keeper. It takes a little time--peeling potatoes and roasting the garlic, but the result is fabulous! I almost got carried away with my "finger sampling" as I was mixing the potatoes. I nearly added a few ingredients, one of which was going to be cream cheese; I had some leftover in the fridge. But, I'm glad I didn't. The recipe was just right, "as is." If you are a garlic fanatic, you may want to add another clove, two or three. I don't like *too much* garlic flavor, so it was just right for me--just enough for a pleasant garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is one of those basic recipes that you can personalize to fit the way you like your potatoes. My family likes a little more garlic although we eat garlic with just about everything. An easy dish for a beginning cook. I agree with others on cutting way down on the roasting time for the garlic; 20 minutes should do it. Thanks, Barrett.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States