Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
We use as stuffing for chicken or turkey. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This gets 5 stars even though I don't roast the garlic. In a small frying pan I add appx 2 tsp of bacon fat and over a medium low fire I add 8 to 10 whole peeled garlic cloves, stirring frequently til they have a medium brown color and are soft. To the water for the potatoes I always add 2 too 3 bay leaves, plenty of coarse ground black pepper and of course salt. I use russet potatoes only and scrub them well before cutting into boiling size pieces, never do I peel them. While the potatoes are boiling the garlic is browning and softening. When the potatoes are done and drained, bay leaves removed, they go back on a very low fire to remove excess moisture. To the pot with the potatoes I add salt, pepper, butter to taste (lots), sour cream instead of milk, Parmesan or cheeses of choice, and the browned garlic. I then mash them by hand using a curved heavy wire potato masher. They come out chunky with extra potato flavor and also have the flavor of the skin. A little milk can be added if they seem they need to be thinned a bit but more sour cream will have the same effect. I have been asked for this recipe so many times that I finally made several copies to keep on hand to give out when asked for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Good dish. To atomiclush if you don't know how to tell when a potatoe is done then you need to eat out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
roast more garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I think this is a good base recipe so I gave it four stars but I made several modifications. Instead of baking potatoes I use red potatoes. My family and I love the taste of these potatoes. I start off by peeling 9-10 red potatoes and then boiling them in a large pot for about 15 minutes. I find this amount of time provides the perfect amount of tenderness. While that in boiling I put a little olive oil and butter into a skillet and sauté 10-12 cloves of garlic as well as 3 sprigs of rosemary. When the potatoes are done boiling I place them into a large mixing bowl and add 1/2-3/4 pint of heavy whipping cream(whole milk works as well) as well as 2 tablespoons butter. I dump in the garlic and rosemary then use a hand masher to mix it together and add salt/pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Use red skinned potatoes with the skin left on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie
Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I know this is supposed to be an easy recipe but I am a little confused by the garlic part. I wonder if it was meant to have a little burnt taste/smell. Mine turned out a little dark brown half way through the cooking time. We dont like the taste of burnt garlic so i squeezed out as much of the soft stuff. When I roast garlic I usually use the whole bulb of garlic, leaving the first layer of skin on and cut 1/4 at the end, place in remiken, drizzle olive oil then cover with foil. Maybe next time I will use this method for the individual gloves leaving the skins on. When cooled, squeeze out the soft garlic. Now, let's get with the whole result...it was bland and had to add more butter, a little more shakes of salt, and used more heavy cream. With little tweaks, you got a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I used the microwaving method to roast minced garlic. While this was much faster, it did not taste as good as roasted garlic. I also made the mistake of adding ALL the olive oil into the mash and this made the potatoes taste strongly of olive oil. The 3 stars are more for my performance than for the recipe as it stands. I will try again and follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter (even adding exactly 1/2 t. salt and exactly 1/4 t. pepper, but they turned out very bland. The garlic was barely noticable. Also, they had a sort of greenish color... from the olive oil, I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Sooooooooo good. There's a nice garlic flavor here without over powering the potatoes. The cheese blends in nicely. I used my mom's traditional mashed potato method (mayo, butter, and milk), but added the seasoning suggested here. It really adds great flavor to potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States