Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These were so easy! I skipped step 1 & 2 and just added the minced garlic from a can that I had on hand. I prepped the potatoes the night before and just left them in a pot in the fridge and made sure they were covered with water (very important or they turn brown). The next day I just changed the water and left them sitting on the stove until I was ready to put them on to boil. So easy and so tasty!!! We even left the skin on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Very good! I added extra cheese! The roasted garlic cloves were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I love mashed potatoes and your recipe is very nice. However, I would reduce the cooking time just a tad. It's going to take the new cook time to figure out when her/his potatoes are cooked to the degree of tenderness they are striving to obtain. I suggest people experiment with timing. I like to stop my potatoes before the water gets cloudy or the potatoes fall apart when poked with a fork. I never was one for timing things. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memmay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Anthony, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have been making garlic mashed potatoes, and always use yukon gold potatoes and they come out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
We use as stuffing for chicken or turkey. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This gets 5 stars even though I don't roast the garlic. In a small frying pan I add appx 2 tsp of bacon fat and over a medium low fire I add 8 to 10 whole peeled garlic cloves, stirring frequently til they have a medium brown color and are soft. To the water for the potatoes I always add 2 too 3 bay leaves, plenty of coarse ground black pepper and of course salt. I use russet potatoes only and scrub them well before cutting into boiling size pieces, never do I peel them. While the potatoes are boiling the garlic is browning and softening. When the potatoes are done and drained, bay leaves removed, they go back on a very low fire to remove excess moisture. To the pot with the potatoes I add salt, pepper, butter to taste (lots), sour cream instead of milk, Parmesan or cheeses of choice, and the browned garlic. I then mash them by hand using a curved heavy wire potato masher. They come out chunky with extra potato flavor and also have the flavor of the skin. A little milk can be added if they seem they need to be thinned a bit but more sour cream will have the same effect. I have been asked for this recipe so many times that I finally made several copies to keep on hand to give out when asked for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Good dish. To atomiclush if you don't know how to tell when a potatoe is done then you need to eat out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
roast more garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I think this is a good base recipe so I gave it four stars but I made several modifications. Instead of baking potatoes I use red potatoes. My family and I love the taste of these potatoes. I start off by peeling 9-10 red potatoes and then boiling them in a large pot for about 15 minutes. I find this amount of time provides the perfect amount of tenderness. While that in boiling I put a little olive oil and butter into a skillet and sauté 10-12 cloves of garlic as well as 3 sprigs of rosemary. When the potatoes are done boiling I place them into a large mixing bowl and add 1/2-3/4 pint of heavy whipping cream(whole milk works as well) as well as 2 tablespoons butter. I dump in the garlic and rosemary then use a hand masher to mix it together and add salt/pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Use red skinned potatoes with the skin left on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie
Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States