Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Pretty good. Not as creamy tasting as I usually like mashed potatoes, and missing something. Maybe next time I'll switch plain yogurt for the milk. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Yummy, no gravy necessary. I recommend more garlic than 6 cloves, personal preference. Also, it only takes about 20 minutes to roast large cloves of garlic this way. Put them in a small casserole, drizzle with olive oil, and cover with aluminum foil. Remove from over after 20 minutes and let them sit covered with foil until they have cooled. They will be nice and soft without being overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This is a very tasty potato dish. The idea of cooking the garlic in the oven is an excellent idea since it add tons of flavor to the mashed potatoes. I followed the recipe as indicated with the exception that I didn't add salt or pepper and it turned out very good. The idea of adding Parmesan cheese to the mashed potatoes is a very good one! I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious. I sort of bypassed the roasting of the garlic, though. I purchased a container of minced roasted garlic and used that (1/2 tsp = 1 clove). Fresh would be even better, of course, but if you add the minced while the potatoes are still hot before you mash them, the flavors mesh fine. Adding oregano, garlic powder, and more salt made them perfect for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I'm rating this 5* because I followed the advise of doubling the garlic, adding cream cheese. I made a 5lb bag potatoes and used a head of garlic - for the other beginners...cut off the top (the thinnest point) to expose all the garlic cloves then pour on the olive oil and bake for approx 20 min. If you don't have a garlic roaster - use foil. I found this hint useful. These were the best garlic mashed potatoes we ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These were so good, my husband wants them again this evening! I guess I need to keep lots of garlic on hand at all times! These potatoes were a perfect side dish to the 'Carmel Apple Pork Chops' as the meat was a little sweet and this added a more slight salty, pungent note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Outstanding. I made this about 5 hours ahead of time for xmas and reheated in microwave and they did not taste starchy at all. I used a touch more garlic and buttermilk instead of regular milk. Everyone gobbled them down. This will become a standby to go with our xmas prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
The flavor was great, but mine came out a little dry. But I just realized I misread the recipe and didn't cube the potatoes before boiling (I used red and kept the skins on), so maybe that's why. I'll add more garlic next time. The great thing about this recipe is you can use the basic ingredients and just tweak the measurements to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
very good! My husband said it was better then chili's and he loves their potatoes. i used about 8 or 9 cloves of garlic and 1 cup of sour cream instead of the parmesan. Because we had this for chrismas dinner I made it ahead of time (like I do everything) and put it in the fridge. I heated it in the oven for about 30 or 40 min (don't remember the temp) and then broiled it for about 3 min until golden brown. I then put some chedder cheese on it and let it melt. My family LOVED it!!! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
needed more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States