Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Very tasty! I did not measure out my potatoes so mine were not as garlic-y as I would have liked, but if I had followed the recipe exactly i'm sure I would have liked them better. I used about 5.5 pounds of potatoes and doubled the amount of garlic and used heavy whipping cream instead of milk, just because I like my potatoes really thick and creamy. overall, superb recipe. My family really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Once I get better at roasting garlic, I'm going to try this recipe again. Still awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
AMAZING! I love it! The flavor of the roasted garlic is so addictive!!! I use 2 heads of garlic, just because I'm a serious garlic lover. I was a little worried about how to squeeze out my garlic cloves into the potatoes, but you can't mess it up even if you tried! If you'd like to add some sour cream, that's more fat but more deliciousness. :) If you're a garlic lover, you've GOT to have this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is sooo good with the roasted garlic. Used redskin potatoes and they were nice and creamy. I made them a few hours prior to dinner and put in the fridge in a Corning crock. Took them out and roasted them with the meat, stirred and served; nice and easy! I roasted the garlic the day before, made into a paste and stored it in a small cup in the fridge until ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
For this year's Thanksgiving dinner, one of my relatives hinted that we should make garlic mashed potatoes as opposed to the plain version. So, low and behold, I found this recipe. The ingredients were simple, but perfect. I completely forgot to drizzle the garlic with the olive oil, but it's okay. Another thing I did differently was that I microwaved the potatoes using the baked potatoes option on the machine (some microwave ovens have that option), which helps when one of your family members is an 11-month-old baby that requires a lot of supervision. Now, one of the biggest mistakes that many people make when preparing mashed potatoes is that there's not enough salt and pepper. It's very important to make sure your potatoes are seasoned properly so that they don't taste bland. Notice that the recipe reads, "salt and pepper to taste". With that said, taste your potatoes before you place them out on the table to serve. If they taste dry, add a little more milk and butter to your recipe. Otherwise, this recipe is absolutely superb. My family (including myself) loved these mashed potatoes, and it's definitely one that's being entered into my recipe book. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I made these for Thanksgiving this year and they were a big hit. I also made a vegan version with vegan butter and soy milk- which were also surprisingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
used 2 heads of roasted garlic, roasted garlic at 400 degrees for 35-45mins. // I prefer smashed potatoes so I blended the roasted garlic with a little bit of the cooked potatoes with a small food processor then added the mix into the rest of the smashed potatoes. // Added 2-3 TB sour cream, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Delicious, but I made a few changes. As we keep kosher I made it non-dairy using Margarine instead of Butter and Vanilla Almond Milk in place of Milk. It is soooooo good!! I also added some garlic powder as the roasted garlic wasn't enough. For those who want to do non-dairy, enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I added some extra butter and cream and fork-mashed them. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Good, but nothing spectacular. I had hoped for something similar to the garlic mashed potatoes at The Keg. I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States