Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
A subjective matter perhaps, but while hubby and I both love broccoli and eat it often, this was just unpleasant. Bitter and an unappealing color due to roasting, this basically just made our house smell strongly of broccoli. Very disappointing--maybe we just bought a bad bunch of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I can't quit eating these! I had no idea you could cook broccoli this way. It is SO good! Thanks! Update since some found this salty - I never use salt in any recipe (except breadmaker). These are really tasty. If you fear the lemon might be too strong, use less the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Broccoli fixed this way is addicting! I cut broccoli vertically and use the stalks too. Toss in bowl, sprinkle w/ montreal seasoning, drizzle w/ olive oil and bake in oven. You won't be able to stop eating!!! My fave way to make broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Delicious! Here's a thought for all the negative-nancy types though...If you don't like salt, lemon or garlic--hmmm. Maybe don't TRY a GARLIC LEMON SEA SALT dish?? Just sayin'! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennB1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was really good, and so easy. I steamed the broccoli in the microwave, then added garlic powder (generous shake), salt, pepper, and juice of half a lemon. I skipped the olive oil, and it was fine without. It was really delicious, super fast, and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very tasty way to cook broccoli! I thought it was delicious. The only very slight negative is that I cut the amount of salt recommended in half and my husband (who likes salt), commented that it was a little salty--although he still loved it! Next time I might cut the salt a little more. I used Kosher salt (which I think is the same as sea salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
EXCELLENT!!!! I tossed the broccoli with garlic olive oil, plenty of garlic (we love garlic so I doubled the amount), kosher salt, pepper and a few shakes of crushed red pepper. I covered w/ foil for the 1st 10 min then removed the foil and let cook another 20 min or so tossing the broccoli occasionally. I finished it off with the squeeze of fresh lemon (we used extra). My husband and i loved this so much we made it 3 nights in a row. Make extra!!! EDIT: In the years since finding this recipe I've made this probably 100 times,we love it that much. I've made it with the broccoli the recipe calls for but we've also made it with asparagus, zucchini and fresh green beans. I've made it in the oven but we also found these veggies turn out fantastic on the grill (we have a grill basket which prevents little pieces from falling thru the grates), the green beans do turn out best on the grill. Its a great way to use up summer veggies and also nice to be abe to do the whole diunner on the grill in the summer and not have to turn on the oven when its hot outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Followed recipe exactly and it was way too salty. I will try again using 1/2 the sea salt. Also will only roast 15 minutes as we prefer a little firmer cooked vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Excellent dish! I was skeptical on how little oil was used in the dish, but I stayed with the recipe, and it turned out great. My husband LOVED it! Healthy AND delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have always just steamed broccoli with lemon and butter before, never experimented with roasting, but this is definitely a great way to prepare it! I also like to add a little crushed red pepper with the garlic and oil toss. Yesterday I had no lemon, so I tried a different "acidic flavor" to brighten it up. I made a little balsamic vinegar reduction (reduce 1 c. good balsamic with 1/4 c. sugar and a pinch salt till it gets down to a syrupy 1/3 cup or so). YUMMMMMMM!!!! It was such a treat. WARNING: DON'T BURN. I think the woman who said this was really bad may have burned hers a little. Burnt broccoli is very unpleasant smelling. The little fluffy green parts of the florets will tend to cook faster, so be vigilant and err on the side of under-cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States