Roasted Garlic, Bell Pepper and Tomato Blender Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
No need to change a thing with this one! I made it exactly as written and it was perfect. I used about 1/4 tsp pepper and 1/2 tsp salt. I also used 6 roma tomatoes. The only thing I might suggest is to keep a close eye on the garlic towards the end. Mine was starting to burn. This is excellent cold or hot, but I chose to warm mine gently in a pot and served it over spaghetti squash with a sprinkle of parmesan. It is rather thin, so keep that in mind. I'm sure if you simmered it for 15-20 on low, it would thicken up some. Also, for those who don't like spicy, keep in mind that the heat is more prevalent once it's heated. This one's a keeper! Very fresh tasting. Thanks for the great recipe, NUBBYJEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Really didn't enjoy this. Nothing else to add, just didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this with yellow tomatoes fresh from my garden and it was great. It tasted more like salsa, but next time I will use red tomatoes and I'm sure it will taste like sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I changed a few things to make it perfect and spicy. I used fresh bell peppers. 2 red and 2 yellow roasted and skinned under cold water. 1 onion sliced, 2 garlic cloves, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 14-ounce can chopped tomatoes, 1 pound pasta shells. Parmesan cheese to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
super easy to make, and I adore roasted veggies but it didn't "come together" for me somehow. I roasted my tomatoes with the garlic for more flavor. Also, I used 2 heads of garlic (not just 5 cloves!) for more flavor. Is mellows out so much that you need at least 2 heads. I've made similar sauces but with roasted carrots and onions added too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
my hubby liked this alot i added some carmlized onions and rosted my own peppers smelled awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
My Hubby liked the sauce, But I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I liked this recipe a lot. I roasted my own red peppers instead of using the store bought ones and also roasted and added some pearl onions and a few green chiles which made for a sweet, spicy sauce to cover my (almost) famous meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
this smelled great. A little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This was a good way to use up my garden tomatoes. I used fresh roasted bells as well, and it turned out excellent. The flavor was lacking a little something, so only four stars, but perhaps it was my taste buds. Enjoyable hot or cold. Used some immediately and froze some. Thanx Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States