Roasted Garlic Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is excellent! I used cannelli beans because thats what I had, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Wouldn't change anything! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Wow!!! I really enjoyed this recipe. It's full of flavor, easy and versatile. I used different beans but stuck to the recipe otherwise. It's worth a try and would be a hit at any party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is great. At first I was disappointed bc I couldn't taste rosemary. Then I realized that I didn't actually follow the directions (this is not an unusual occurence for me!) and roasted the garlic in the skin, so of course there was no rosemary flavor. So I added some rosemary and I'm happy. Next time I'll try with roasting garlic without the skin and with the rosemary. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made a couple small changes, but nne of them drastic - only had three heads of garlic, and that was just right for this recipe. Also, no dried rosemary so I used an Italian seasoning blend that had rosemary, oregano, marjoram, basil and thyme and that worked fine. Finally, I only had cannelini beans on hand and that also worked fine - I actually think I prefer them as they are a bit creamier than navy beans. The result was one excellent dip! I do think that for us an extra head of garlic might have been too much, but otherwise this is one of my favorites now. Great for veggies, toasted pita wedges, tortilla chips or even crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is my first review of anything on here. This is worth the time and an amazing dip, very full of flavor! I didn't have dried dried rosemary but used fresh from the garden. My Husband absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Great taste. Very minor changes. Used 2 heaping teaspoons of minced garlic from a jar which I added to the sautéed onion just a minute or 2 before onion was cooked. Used fresh rosemary. Will use this dip as a sauce over zucchini noodles as well. I liked the taste of this dip with carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alnkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I made this for a pot luck at work and everyone enjoyed it. I saw people using it as a vegetable, tortilla and pretzel dip. Instead of sour cream I used some drained yogurt that I had on hand (I let the yogurt drain overnight in a cheesecloth). I was afraid that four heads of garlic might be a bit excessive, but it wasn't. I think it'd also be tasty in place of hummus on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meg A.
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was pretty good. But I made this to go with carrots - not so good! I think it would taste awesome on tacos though. Also, I used only half the garlic - it was more than plenty. My garlic LOVING husband said it was a bit too much. But I might make it again to use in place of refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Relatively healthy, but just didn't have that something to bring it to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Was out of rosemary so I used my usual Italian seasoning to roast the garlic. Used cannellini beans from the freezer because they were ready, worked great. Only 2 heads of garlic because that was all I had on hand. We are huge garlic fans so I planned on adding more the next day but I left it as is and it's fine. Spread the bean dip on tortillas for roasted veggie tacos which made them better than they would have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States