Roasted Eggplant and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I just finished eating this and loved it. I read the previous reviews about it being watery and by looking at the ingredients. yes I can see why. Mushrooms and zucchini have a really high water content. I chopped everything up, salted it and let it sit in colander for about 30 minutes.. added the seasonings and tomato paste right in there. Mixed it up and baked.. No need for the water!! Use lots of fresh cracked pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2002
You can add a little zip to this by increasing garlic, adding some freshh Romas quartered, and some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I added this dish to spiral pasta and added extra tomatoe sauce to it for a complete meal. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
5/08
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
My husband and I loved this recipe. I made a few changes by adding more onion and doubling the sauce recipe. I also roasted it in a 9 by 11 pan and put 4 Italian sausages on top to roast with it. It made a great and easy weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I really liked this! To make it my own I used my favorite wine instead of water and fresh basil and then drizzled balsamic vinegar on top! Yum! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Wilkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great recipe. I too made a few modifications as most did. I didn't have zucchini so I made it without it. Still came out great. I added some tomato sauce and sprinkled some shredded cheese on top at the end. It was so good I went back for seconds. Can't wait to make it again with the zucchini and maybe some squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This was a great, quick recipe, and a good one to expand on, too! I added sauteed mushrooms, and a layer of baby spinach leaves. I thought the goat cheese flavor was just a bit too strong, but my husband thought it was just right. I took the leftover roasted eggplant and pepper and made wraps the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyrochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Having read several other reviews, I made some alterations to this recipe. First, I opted for an oven top saute rather than a baked dish and served it with pasta- this was perfect. I used olive oil to bring the onion and garlic to a golden color. I added vegetarian italian sausage (regular sausage for meat eaters would work), and instead of basil used thyme. Additionally, I added a splash of red wine (whatever you have open, I used Shiraz) and instead of the tomato paste and water, I used about a cup of store bought sauce to bring out the acidity. Though I did not try it, I agree that red pepper flakes could be a nice addition too. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
i literally just typed in the veggies i had left in the fridge and found this recipe. i read a few tips and also decided to add spice to mine with crushed red pepper. added additional garlic and a bit of shaved parm/romano mix that i had. this is a really great dish. It's a new version of ratatouille for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States