Roasted Eggplant and Garlic Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I can't say I agree with a lot of the other viewers. I thought this was delicious! You really do have to follow the proportions though. I halved everything and tasted it and it was delicious. (I did also sweat the eggplant, slice, peel and roast it about 25 minutes at 400). Then I added the other half can of garbanzos and totally lost the wonderful, roasted flavor. At that point I tried adding things in like tahini, more garlic, lemon, etc., to try to fix my error, but to no avail. The new version is ok, but the exact recipe was great! It comes out pretty chunky (see photo) but that's great because you get the individual flavors of the ingredients. Go into this with an open mind. It might have been better to call it a dip rather than a hummus because then people expect it to take like hummus. It doesn't. But if you savor the flavors for a moment, you'll realize it has a great, natural flavor in its own right. Can't wait to make it again, thanks Stengah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was sooo delicious. I ate spoonfuls of it right out of the food processor. Even my 15 month old son gobbled it up. I ran out of olive oil so I just used regular canola oil, but I didn't change anything else. It was great, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This is awesome. I used it to make Hummus Pizza. I used a whole bulb of garlic. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
We liked this one, but there are too much garbanzo beans, so I had to add garlic. overall, it's very easy and tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delicious! I added 1/2 tsp of garlic salt, 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar, and I used low sodium beans. wonderful with warm pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I belong to a food coop and have an abundance of eggplant. Ergo: this recipe. I added a little more salt and some pepper. I roasted a whole head of garlic with the eggplant and squeezed that in at the finish. I also added one large spoonfull of tahini and the juice of half a lemon, and it was MARVELOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Turned out too bland. Had to add peppers and tomatoes and more garlic. Easy recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Used dried beans instead of canned. Needed to add water as consistency was too thick. Agree w/ other review - this was too bland. Added more salt and fresh ground black pepper. Will probably add cayanne pepper to give it a little kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Yummy. A little chewy. Not really worth the effort of the eggplant. Needed tahini, lemon juice and lots of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I agree with some of the others that it doesn't have much flavour as is. I am on weight watchers and everything I eat has to be very flavourful and satisfying. It has to be WORTH IT to eat it:) The only thing I found that added that POP of flavour (after adding oregano, lemon juice and a bit of feta) was roasted red peppers. Now it's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States