Roasted Eggplant and Garlic Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was sooo delicious. I ate spoonfuls of it right out of the food processor. Even my 15 month old son gobbled it up. I ran out of olive oil so I just used regular canola oil, but I didn't change anything else. It was great, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
We liked this one, but there are too much garbanzo beans, so I had to add garlic. overall, it's very easy and tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This hummus was easy to make, and came out with a somewhat decent texture. I liked that it's quick to make and that the ingredients are affordable. However, the hummus was very bland. After making it according to instructions, I had to doctor the recipe up quite a bit to make it enjoyable. This might be a good base, but I would not serve it as-is. I give it two stars for affordability, accessibility, nutritional value and texture. It severely lacks in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Turned out too bland. Had to add peppers and tomatoes and more garlic. Easy recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Used dried beans instead of canned. Needed to add water as consistency was too thick. Agree w/ other review - this was too bland. Added more salt and fresh ground black pepper. Will probably add cayanne pepper to give it a little kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I belong to a food coop and have an abundance of eggplant. Ergo: this recipe. I added a little more salt and some pepper. I roasted a whole head of garlic with the eggplant and squeezed that in at the finish. I also added one large spoonfull of tahini and the juice of half a lemon, and it was MARVELOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delicious! I added 1/2 tsp of garlic salt, 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar, and I used low sodium beans. wonderful with warm pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong but this was very bland. Did not go over well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
The recipe title promises a lot and does not deliver. Very, very bland. I added lemon juice, additional garlic, tahini and curry powder. Now THAT was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
The eggplant in this helps to make this a very creamy dip. However, it is not really a hummus. It was more like an eggplant dip with some garbanzo. It is pretty bland and tasteless as is. It needs tahini, lemon, cumin and a dash of cayenne pepper. I used 1/2 of a large eggplant and did not include the skin. I was worried about it not blending smooth enough. It was much better after the addition of the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States