Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
A decent, basic duck recipe that doesn't overpower the flavor of the duck with too many spices. The butter, however, is *extreme* overkill. Duck is already a very fatty meat. The last thing it needs is to have a half cup of butter dumped over it. Stuff the cavity with some onion, lemon wedges, and garlic cloves, skip the butter entirely, and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Awesome recipe the duck was fabulous! I added a bit of garlic to the rub, I also put half a stick of butter in the duck before putting it in the oven and the last 15 minutes of cooking i glazed it with the orange sauce, and it was just so good. We have duck every year during the holidays and this was the best it has ever turned out. TY for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aviano, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Love, love love this recipe. I had always liked the inside of duck, but was not fond at all of the sweet sauce that was always on top. Noone else seemed to know how to do a savory skin. thanks so much...It was delicious. I will now make duck often, and not just for special occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Great recipe. Very easy and tasty. I put a quartered lemon and some sprigs of fresh thyme and savory in the cavity. I did not add butter but basted it with the rendered fat. I made a gravy with the pan drippings (fat separated)and some stock made from the neck, gibblets and wing tips along with chopped carrots, onions and celery.I took the advice of previous reviewers and reduced salt by 1/2t and overall cooking time by 15 mins. A great recipe that you can fancy up or make as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Very simple to make and delicious. The whole family loved it! One tip, get a food thermometer that you can keep in the meat while it's cooking. The probe runs a wire to the outside of the oven attached to the display. You can see the internal temp w/out opening the oven. The full 2 hours would have been a little too long for my bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin Square, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is such an incredibly delicious recipe! I was skeptical at first, given the simplicity of the recipe. Anyway, this was a huge hit with my entire family. Next time though, I'll be making two ducks so there will enough for all four of us:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This will be the recipe I will use whenever I serve duck.....my husband loves duck, I wanted something special to serve him for his birthday supper, he was smiling throughout the entire meal!! Thank you....I added just a little garlic powder to the rub just because we love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Mueller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I debated on giving this 5 stars (I feel people give those too easily and they lose value) but this dish earned it. My husband and I both stopped mid- first bite and looked at each other with surprise, it was so good. It also looked beautiful, I should have taken a picture but we were hungry! I did not use any butter or oil, and neither should you. Duck is VERY fatty and will produce plenty of oil to baste in during cooking. Also, I elevated the duck on quartered potatoes so that it wouldn't be swimming in fat during cooking. I definitely recommend this as it also covers a tasty side dish. I also stuffed the duck with a quartered onion. This recipe is a keeper and my husband demanded the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgrove86

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Wonderful and simple recipe! I didn't have to go out and buy any extra ingredients (seasonings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This was a simple yet pleasing recipe for duck. I was not overwhelmed by the ingredients or the preparation, Delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States