Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
thank you for yummy duck. have always done the traditional apple celery and such inside,this was fast easy and not sweet[i'm diabetic] thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emerald-mist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this duck for Thanksgiving. I used all the butter called for, and it turned out wonderfully!! I carved it and put it on the platter, and it was gone in seconds. Everyone said it was seasoned perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'm a Balehead

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Just like others, this rub was simple and the duck tastes great! While one person of my 5 did not like it the others loved it. Seems that duck yield about 50% of its weight so buy accordingly. My duck's weight was over 6# and we were lucky to get 2 1/2 -3 lbs of moist eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbluett1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Simple and wonderful! Followed as is, you can't go wrong, but this recipe also leaves plenty of room for you to add a customization or two (eg. substitute olive oil for butter and/or add a teaspoon of turmeric, etc...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
awesome!! awesome!! awesome! .. my hubby kissed me when he saw whats cooking for dinner.. he loves duck! every bite he says hmm.. mm.. mmmm heheh thanks for sharing :) I rate this 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Made this recipe with a duck we raised this year. The duck was skinless, so I used butter, but, only 1/4 cup. I also cut the salt in half since the butter was salted, and added a scant teaspoon of garlic powder. I tented the bird with aluminum foil and cooked it at 400 degrees for an hour and 15 minutes; then let it rest for 10 more minutes still under the foil. Next time I will cut the time down to 45-60 minutes and stay with tenting/resting time at 10 minutes. My husband LOVED it. We skinned half of the ducks we butchered this year and left the skin on the other half, so with the ones WITH skin, I would cut the butter down to only a tablespoon - just enough for the butter flavor. I also think this would be awesome on the grill for a skin-on bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenleaf, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Skip the butter. Duck is fatty as it is and does not need anymore fat. Simply baste the duck with its own juices every half hour or so. For a more tender duck, I would cook it for an hour and a half or so in foil at about 350 first, and then uncover and cook another 1 hour or so at 375. Squeezing an orange on the duck is also nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I truly can't believe how delicious the duck tasted with this recipe, in all it's simplicity. It was so easy. I added a little bit of garlic to the rub (we're big garlic fans) and it was just marvelous! Thank you for this recipe. I've never been a big fan of sugary or fruity glazes on meat. This was perfect! I think I may use this every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good. I've tried to get a crispy duck like my favorite Thai restaurant, but this is the one that comes closest. I read the reviews and added garlic and other spices, and left out the butter completely. I also used just a small amount of kosher salt in place of the salt. Kudos to the reviewer who mentioned juniper berries; I've used them with a standing rib roast before, and they add a great pungent taste to the rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States