Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Great recipe I suggest using a rack in a roasting pan because duck is very greasy and you may start your house on fire lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was so simple to prep and cook and it tasted fantastic! The seasoning is simple allowing the natural flavor of the duck to dominate, and the large quantities of butter made the duck extremely moist. This may be the only way I ever cook duck again, with absolutely no change to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Lorek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was very good and so easy to make. I basted the duck with it's rendered fat, you do not need the extra butter! Here's is a trick that I think makes for a crispier skin: 24 to 48 hours before you want to serve it, unwrap, score ( cut across the fat diagonally in both directions, making sure to avoid cutting into the flesh) rub pepper and salt on/ into the skin and cavity and place in the fridge uncovered. This will let the bird dry out and acts as a dry brine. Dry bird= crispy skin! Thank you Rhonda, now I have a go to duck recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe! I accidentally used cayenne instead of paprika and it still came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING! Can't wait to make it again! I wanted to have duck at Christmas but I never made a duck before, so I tried this one because it seemed easy and I had all the ingredients. WOW! It was SO good that I bought another duck the next time I went to the store and threw it in the freezer just so I could do it again soon! I also threw half of a pear I had left over in the cavity - which I think added to the flavor - but other than that I followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I cooked duck for the first time for my family for Valentines day. This recipe was delicious but I did make a few changes as per the other reviews. Leave out the butter completely - duck is very oily. And I added a quartered lemon, 4 halved scallions & 4 garlic cloves inside the bird. I pricked the duck around the neck and drumsticks to help drain some of the fat & I used the drippings from the pan to baste the duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
My husband has been asking me to prepare duck for years (his mother often made it for holidays) This was simple and very tasty. I followed recipe but made two ducks and placed lemon and onion in the cavity because I had them. I also eliminated the last butter basting after reading other reviews. Very tasty and simple. I was glad to find a recipe that did not use orange sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was such a flop for me, and a HUGE disappointment since i had all my family over and I spent a lot of money on these ducks. It took much much longer to cook, and the meat was not tasty at all. The best part of the meal were the potatoes and carrots I cooked under the duck...Never again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Exceedingly simple but so incredibly delicious! I had never made duck before but I certainly will do it again, it was amazing! I followed the recipe as stated and I don't think I would have changed a thing. I served mine with garlic mashed potatoes and roasted green beans and asparagus with mushrooms and apple crisp for desert, will become a regular meal around my house! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Such a great recipe. Deffently compliments the bird. I took the advice from another reviewer and added 1 Lemon, 1 Bulb of garlic, and 1 sweet onion all chopped in pieces/wedges in the duck cavity. I also added fresh thyme. I rubbed the bird down with the spices listed, and skipped the butter. I baisted the bird with its own juices about every 30 min. It came out so perfect and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Huntington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States