Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was not worth the mess it makes of your oven. Had to clean the grease from oven twice before turning the self cleaner on. It also needed more flavor and skin does't crisp up well. First whole duck I have ever cooked and will be the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Excellent and very easy to make. I had never cooked duck before and was quite surprised at how little meat there is once you carve the bird. It was just enough for 3 people. Next time I'll use a bigger bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I tried it and changed it. I started it in slow cooker and basted with its own liquid. Then I made an orange cranberry glaze. Brushed it with the glaze in a 375 oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Wonderful !! My first duck, I was apprehensive to serve duck any way, I do not like all the spices other recipes required. It was perfect in every way. Thanks for a new dish in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! My family have never been very keen on duck, but this recipe has changed their minds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Easy and absolutely delicious!!! Highly recommend to to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made duck using this recipe for the first time for Christmas dinner, it was amazing. I am a very big critic of recipes on this website. I will be using this recipe to start a tradition in my family, duck every christmas with this recipe for the rest of my life.Sounds good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great recipe, and really easy. I used white pepper and rock salt, and put a good amount of salt inside the cavity. That flavors it throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemongingertea
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I wouldn't change *a thing* about this recipe. Just make sure the duck is perfectly in the center of the oven so it isn't too close to the elements (so it won't brown too fast). Since I roasted two ducks in one oven, on top of one another other (one on a higher rack, one below) and switched them out so they would brown evenly. It came out WONDERFUL. There is a LOT of butter but that's okay because it tasted even better. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I just made this today for my husband and I for Thanksgiving. We wanted something other than turkey because we will be celebrating the holiday with family this weekend and didn't want to get "turkeyed out". I had never had duck before much less cooked one, but I agreed to try it at my husband's request. WOW... I am SO glad I did, it was just simply to die for. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding a 1/2 tsp each of garlic and onion powder to the rub. My duck was just over 5lbs and we had no leftovers at all. I will definately be making this again. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States