Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good. I've tried to get a crispy duck like my favorite Thai restaurant, but this is the one that comes closest. I read the reviews and added garlic and other spices, and left out the butter completely. I also used just a small amount of kosher salt in place of the salt. Kudos to the reviewer who mentioned juniper berries; I've used them with a standing rib roast before, and they add a great pungent taste to the rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Only giving this a 4 star because this is the first time I've tried duck. It was much greasier than I anticipated. I had made it for Thanksgiving last year to try something different but I think I'm going to stick to the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I chose to brine the bird 24 hrs in a mix of Kosher salt and honey.... excellent. Also stuffed a sliced orange into the cavity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earlybird0367

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I pierced the skin of the duck to allow the fat to drain out and roasted it on a rack above a pan so it wouldn't be cooking in its grease. I also omitted the butter. It's amazing how much fat came out of the duck! The duck tasted good, the skin was crispy, but there was very little meat and despite draining out most of the fat, there was still a fairly thick subcutaneous layer remaining. I think there are slow roasting methods that eliminate that problem, but I didn't feel like spending 5+ hours doing that. The biggest problem I had with roasting a duck was the smell. I LOVE duck, but the smell of roasting duck in my apartment was nauseating. I was no longer hungry when it was finished and my living space smelled for days. I think the next time I have a hankering for duck, I'll go to a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is a great base for roasting your first duck. I used 1 tsp of seasoned salt, 1/2 tsp of accent, 1/2 tsp of meat tenderizer. It needs 2 teaspoons of salt as stated. I thought a 5lb duck would not need so much salt. My mistake. But I still had flavor. I gave a four star rating because the instructions did not state whether to cover the duck while roasting. I used a frozen duck and the package said bake uncovered. So after an hour, I put 1/4 cup butter on the duck and it began to fry the duck in the oven so I covered the duck for the last hour so my duck would not burn. I did not apply anymore butter. It was done to perfection. It looked absolutely beautiful. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was the first time I made a roasted duck, it was absolutely marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was pretty good, not really different from roasting a chicken, and not much different in flavor, either. I followed other reviewers' advice and cut the salt and eliminated the butter. Not bad when you really have a craving for duck, but not a regular dish. I made a duck stir-fry with rice with the leftovers, and that was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Used this recipe to make my first roasted duck for Christmas dinner--it was a great success! The recipe is deceptively simple, but the results are exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I have never had much success cooking duck. This recipe is remarkably simple and delicious! There is no reason to try a more complicated recipe. My cooking time was much shorter than the recipe called for. A thermometer is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This recipe was very easy to cook. I have never had duck before or have cooked it. To give you an Idea I am a 25 year old man that just started getting into cooking. The only changes that I made is after letting the duck cook for an hour I used 1/4 of a cup of butter. You do not need to add any more butter after that. The fat on ducks is so thick you dont really have to worry about it drying out!!!!! This recipe is so simple even a cave man can do it....... Just make sure you check the internal temp....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States