Roasted Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
The spices are good and I did not use butter; the duck comes out fine. Use a good sweet sauce, orange, cranberry or whatever you like to coat the duck the last 15 minutes of roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
it has been a long time since I last cooked duck and this was nice, my wife and guests enjoyed it. BUT the cooking times really are way off as some reviewers have pointed out. it was clear that after just over an hour it was pretty much done and I had to keep it covered until the other dishes were done, making it overdone by that time. I pricked the skin on fatty places and used butter.... but I eat low carb so was not phased by high fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made this for Easter dinner today minus the melted butter, as duck has plenty of fat anyway! The skin was crispy, tasty and fought over... Yummy! Will use this for my go-to duck recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Instead of butter, I used EVOO and made a wet rub with that, paprika, salt, pepper, garlic powder, thyme and savory. I quartered a lemon and an onion and inserted it into the cavity. I roasted it, basting it several times with its own juices. I also made a gravy with the drippings and stock and a medium roux. PERFECT!!! Thanks for giving me this base to start with and thanks to all the other reviewers for your suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This recipe is so easy to do I wouldn't recommend all of butter i used a lil bit but all all it was very good every one love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I made this duck with my husband, but we made little cuts on the skin and put the duck on a special "pedestal" so that the fat would drain out. It was delicious, wished it was 3 times bigger! Definitely making this dish for special occasions. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I used this recipe to prepare my duck last night. I was a little skeptical because it didn't include the fancy sauces or numerous spices. I strayed a little from the recipe by rubbing margarine on the duck and adding Chinese 5 spices. I cooked it 1/2 hour more and it came out so crispy. My husband's job is to do the carving - he didn't have to because the meat just fell from the bone and he touched it. He couldn't stop eating it. This was the best duck I have ever prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole L. Piller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Fantastic ! I will use this recipe whenever I serve duck . Very easy to put together , great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avron Goss
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is the FIRST time I have cooked a duck and this recipe works... I made some minor changes, including rubbing with 2 tbsp of home made harissa paste and letting stand for 2 hours (instead of the paprika and pepper) and I filled the cavity with wedges of lemon and onion and 4 cloves of garlic. I served it on mashed potato with harissa and a tomato and onion salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avron Goss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kfreyhof
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Yummy! I added garlic to the rub and it was Delicious. 1/2 cup butter was a little too much for us. Next time I'll use 1/4 cup and place some in the cavity. Family enjoyed too and was picking meet off the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States