Roasted Curried Chicken with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious! For this recipe I used a package of bone0in chicken thighs and dredged them in the spice mixture for about 15 minutes before baking. Also, I used brown rice instead of couscous and next time I make the rice I am going to omit the lemon juice. The lemon flavor overpowered the side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewen, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
DELICIOUS! The only changes I made were to use bone-in chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken (because that's what I had), and I was out of onion powder so I used dried onions. I also reduced the cooking time somewhat because of the breasts. I cooked them for an hour, but they probably would have been done in about 45 minutes. The seasonings in the couscous weren't too strong, so they complimented the chicken, and didn't seem too much of the same. I will DEFINITELY make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Very easy...I added an extra 1/2 cup chicken stock in the bottom of the pan...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was a tasty recipe. I like to make one dish meals at dinner. to save time. Instead of using a whole bird, I used a cut up chicken, about 3 pounds. I rubbed the pieces with some of the spice mixture as instructed, and laid them in a large baking dish. Then, I added a zucchini, summer squash, a green pepper, and a red onion, all cut into large-ish pieces. I also included a box of whole button mushrooms. These I scattered over and around the chicken. Then I dotted the veggies with the remaining spice mix, and drizzled them with a little extra olive oil and 1/2 cup chicken broth to prevent scorching. I baked the pan in the oven at 400F for about an hour, turning and basting the veggies a couple of times. As the vegetables gave off some water and the chicken gave off its own fat, the whole thing cooked evenly and everything was coated with the chili-curry spices. It turned out really delish, especially served over the couscous! Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The flavors were great, but I must have used too small of a chicken, because I had gobs and gobs of rub left even after coating everything well. I let it marinate for the afternoon before cooking, and it smelled specatcular while in the oven. I made a chicken salad with the left overs the next day, and it was absolutely fantastic. I may cook chicken like this specifically for the purpose of making chicken salad the next day. My husband raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I would go 3 1/2 stars. I only made the chicken and used thighs, but followed the recipe exactly. It was okay, but not phenomenal. It may have been my curry powder. I made the full amount of curry mixture, rubbed onto thighs and under the skin and marinated like that for 24 hours. I really expected the flavor to pop, but it didn't. I will try again with a different curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I just made the couscous part of this recipe and it was VERY good....I had made "plain" couscous before, it was awful! This was flavorful and satisfying. I eyeballed the spices, using probably less than called for as we are not fond of curry, but it was pretty darn good!!! I will make this again! Thanks for a great recipe greennie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I tried this recipe (made by stepdaughter) and I thought was good, but if marinated could be better. So I did it marinating and it was great, the chicken was much more flavorful. Today I thought of making it with chicken breasts (had my doubts) but reviews said it was good. This recipe is definetely not for anything other than whole chicken! There is not enough liquids from skinless/boneless breasts and it came out great in flavor but not saucy as should be (kinda grainy). Stick to original recipe and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I just made the couscous part of this recipe to go with the Garlic Chicken Kabobs from this site. It was very flavourful. I will make it all the time as I love couscous. I can't wait to try the whole recipe and will update when I do. I have never done a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeanne O'Donohue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Another great roasted chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States