Roasted Corn and Basmati Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
for folks who think a recipe makes to much there is a option you know to change the amt to feed.? It is at the top of the recipe and you change it from 8 to four services and it automatically changes the portions used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was delicious! I added crumbled feta and served with Tabbouleh and hummus with flat bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyoracle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This makes a HUGE salad. Way more than 8 servings. I served twenty people and still had tons left-over. I cheated and used the one pound bag of roasted corn from Trader Joe's. Super easy that way and it has great flavor. Probably better than I could do myself. I didn't use the red onion because I was already serving another salad that had it in there. And I did swap out fresh tomato for sundried julienne strips, because when they are out of season, I don't think they are worth the price. I would recommend olive oil over corn oil. I had to double the basil in order to get the flavor to come through. Could probably use a little more spices. Kind of bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a great basic recipe that makes TONS...just modify to your taste. I even added sour cream to make it a creamy base once, and added red peppers and other veggies on hand to suit our taste. If you follow this recipe, you better want alot of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I didn't use as much vinegar, or oil because I ended up not having quite enough (about half of what I needed), and I didn't have enough time to fully chill it, but it turned out fantastic! I think it might be too vinegary if you use as much (but I'm not positive). The dish was very pretty and vibrant, and I served it with tomatoes and scallions and rack of lamb with Beaujolais honey sauce and it went very well! I also though it tasted better room temp. as opposed to chilled. I'm for sure making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roachonatree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I really liked this recipe. Made a couple of changes, lessened the oil, added roasted peanuts and I did the corn in a frying pan on the stove. Worked great and tasy. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very tasty and unique. I modified this according to what was in my cupboard. Instead of corn and tomatoes, I added bellpepper, walnuts and cranberries and some red onion. I also used olive oil in place of corn oil. I look forward to using corn and tomatoes on next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I made it was for a tex-mex potluck, so I changed it a bit: substituted brown rice for white rice, used frozen corn in place of fresh, used lime juice instead of lemon, used canned mexican-style diced tomatoes in place of fresh, used only about half the dressing, subbed cilantro for the basil, and roasted the purple onions with the corn. I think we may have added some homemade salsa and crushed red pepper also. But it was absolutely amazing!!! Just about a different recipe. The second time I made it, I followed the recipe. It was ok, still too much oil and too much dressing overall, and used brown rice and frozen corn again. Pretty good, but not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Well received by many. I made it for a pot luck at work, doubling the recipe, and only heard positive comments. I found the recipe called for a bit too much oil. I also added a bit of cumin to add a little more flavour that wasn't acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States