Roasted Corn and Basmati Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I stuck pretty exactly to the recipe and took for a picnic with cold meat and it was raved about (spring breakers!) - very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This is an excellent side! The only thing I disagree with is the chilling part. It is so good at room temp! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This is a great and refreshing side, and very easy to prepare! The corn adds fantastic flavor when paired with the rice, tomato and onion. Having followed the recipe to the letter, I think next time I'll use a little less oil in the dressing itself, but overall a really interesting and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Was very good next to grilled chicken breast with cucumber and pepper relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Easy and good, even for a bachelor like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was very good, but it made a ton of food (you'll really need a LARGE bowl for this), and it lasted me for almost a week. The Woman I Love tried some of the leftovers, and she liked it a lot too. This recipe represented two "firsts" for me: I'd never cooked with basmati rice before; and I'd never cut corn off the cob before (which was tedious and messy the first time, but I'll do better next time!). I followed the recipe to the letter. One funny thing, though. The corn never got "lightly browned". I kept adding 5 minutes at a time to the original 15 minutes. I finally gave up at 35 minutes - the corn was cooked, no doubt, but still not browned that I could see. I wonder why that was? All in all, this was a great recipe. It takes a bit of time to make (I don't enjoy peeling, seeding and dicing tomatoes), but the final result is very tasty and will go a long way (I found that the "8 servings" amounts to 8 pretty full plates of the stuff).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Made this tonight to go with our steak tips and it was delicious. Very refreshing. I used Jasmine rice, since that was what I had on hand. I happened to have some roasted almond slivers which I tossed in just before serving...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKISETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I found this rice too sweet, however my husband loved it. Next time I would use less red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I was excited to try this after all of the great reviews I read, but it just didn't work for us. I followed the recipe as written, but it was way too tart, and it made quite a bit more than 8 servings. My husband couldn't finish his and I'm not looking forward to eating the leftovers, but I hate to throw away all that food after all of the time and effort put into it. Sadly, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
AMAZING... and thats just trying it warm. I couldn't wait to see what everyone was raving about and boy were they right! I DID make one change. I was out of red wine vinegar so I substituted 1/2 white wine vinegar and 1/2 champagne vinegar and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arsineh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States