Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This was very unique and tasty. We seasoned with a little cayenne pepper and garlic salt. At 20 minutes in the oven they were done, so watch the time if you have a hot oven. Will make again and experiment with different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This was really different and good! I used olive oil, and Cavendars Greek Seasoning, along with just a bit of cayenne pepper to give it a bite. I did stir the peas on the cookie sheet every so often to help them brown more evenly. Unique and delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Yum, made with seasoned salt...delicious! Will definitely make again for snacking on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Really, really tasty.. I added in a can of kidney beans the second time I made them and they turned out well too! So yummy and highly recommended. I found 450 to be too hot though... I used my convection oven set on 350 and roasted them for about 40 minutes and they came out perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grumblebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I've tried this recipe a couple of times with different seasonings; my favorite is with a curry-type blend of spices. They're done when the color has darkened, and the beans have shrunk - about 30 min for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
These are great. You don't need as much olive oil as stated--just a few spritzes will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I've been looking for a high protein snack, and this is it. I tried a similar Martha Stewart recipe that called for baking at 300 degrees, but the chickpeas never dried out, even after being in the over for twice the recommended time. I decided to see if there was a similar recipe on Allrecipes.com, and I was so pleased there was. Once I raised the temperature to 450 for about 10 minutes, the chickpeas finally dried out, shrunk, and got crunchy, as they are supposed to do. As another reviewer stated, they do taste a little like corn nuts - a tasty snack but with a lot more protein. Next, I decided to try kidney beans, and they were good too, but some burned at 40 minutes. These I'll have to remove about 5-10 minutes sooner. These beans also split open at this temperature, but it does not affect the pverall taste. I plan on carrying these around in my purse from now on instead of pretzels for future snack attacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
521 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haydee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
As a strict vegan it can be hard to find good snack foods. I love this one though. It is very good and easy to make. Like others I did not use as much Olive oil. I used only 1 Tbsp. My kids also love this as a snack food and I like that it is healthy and full of protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
These are amazing! I used 1 tsp of oil, salt, pepper, paprika and garlic powder. I baked them for about 45 min. I threw them on the bottom rack while I was baking something else. What a wonderful healthy snack for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
so tasty! I used cavendar's and cayenne pepper for seasoning and about 1 teaspoon of olive oil. I lowered oven heat to 375. This is my new favorite snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States