Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Love this recipe! I was craving potato chips, and after I found a can of chickpeas in the cupboard, I decided to give this a try. Based on all the other reviews, I used one can of chickpeas, three different ways just to see what happened. I think I agree with the reviewers who said to dry roast for a little while, before tossing with olive oil/etc. This is definitely a great basic recipe that I can experiment with different flavors/seasonings. I tried adobo seasoning (which was a little too salty for me), as well as attempting a Panko coating (didn't work so well) and lastly, I added a little Worcester, garlic salt, and dashed of cayenne, cumin, and paprika, to the olive oil (which I loved). Extremely versatile recipe that is flexible around personal preference/tastes, and variances in ovens/cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I followed others' advice and baked them at 350 for 20 min, then turned it up to 450. Before 15 min was even close they started popping out of the pan, onto the heating elements, and setting off the smoke alarm! My oven is accurate, I soaked the peas overnight and blotted them dry. I don't know what happened--I think I'll try again at 350 for a longer time. There are so many variations that I'm anxious for them to turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very tasty and healthy! They were a little soft, so I will try other reviewers suggestions and cut back on the oil after dry roasting initially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
just took 'em out of the oven and they're already gone! my little brother and his friends inhaled them all. tip: add more spices than you think you need
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe because I didn't want to gorge myself on chips any longer. They weren't quite what I was after, so I tried a slightly different variation where you don't add the oil and everything until later on. MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I followed everyone's advice about dry roasting and then adding the oil and spices after they were cooked, and these turned out fabulous after 50 minutes at 400, shaking the baking pan every 15 minutes. This is the first time that I've ever deviated from the original posted recipe, and I'm glad that I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I guess I'm the odd man out here, because I didn't care for these at all. I also think they would benefit from a lower heat/longer cooking temp or, like some others did, start at a lower heat and the up the heat for the remaining time. My chickpeas varied from burnt to undercooked. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Daughter made these as a part of her diet program and liked them but wants to cook them longer so they are more crunchy. Flavor is good though. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I enjoyed this. I used one tablespoon of olive oil and I probably could have gone heavier on the cayenne pepper. I lined my baking sheet with parchment paper for easy cleanup. Great for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I'm very sorry to say that I didn't like how this came out at all. I made it as the recipe said and I found that the chickpeas were not crispy and had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States