Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Excellent,as is! But, anyone who cooks should understand that a recipe is only a "blue print" from which we can easily modify to meet our personal dietary needs and taste. I may try different spices some time, just for fun... but the recipe is still a "5 Star"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Tried these for the first time today. I have been thinking about making them for ages and super glad I did. My hubby and teenage son just devoured them right out of the oven. What a simple, delicious and healthier option for snacking. My oven cooks pretty hot so I turned the heat down to 400 degrees and did a total cooking time of about 50 minutes. Now that we know how much we love these, we are going to experiment with different spices. Thinking the next batch with have a bit of garlic salt and rosemary. We WILL be making these again. And soon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
gave 4 cos not a huge fan, but need to still keep working at recipe to find right flavors. drained chickpeas in colander then put them on a doubled paper towel to dry. did oven at 400 degrees for 30 min, sprayed with Pam olive oil, added garlic powder, then cooked for 20 minutes more. Next time I would try 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes, add (just barely cover) honey and cinnamon, then cook for 25 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
These are great, and with enough cayenne pepper, they taste a little like hot fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
After several attempts at this recipe, I think I found the perfect combination. 450 was way too hot and after 15 min in the oven, the chickpeas were burnt (plus I don't think you are supposed to use olive oil at such a high temp). They turned out the best when I put them in the oven at 350 for 30 min (no oil/cooking spray), then took them out, did a light spray and added the seasonings and stirred them around and continued baking and stirring, about every 5 min for another 15 - 20 min. I will keep experimenting with different seasonings just to keep it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
First off, I think that the temperature is too high. After about 15 minutes of roasting they started popping and about 6 jumped off the pan into the bottom of the oven. After I got them picked up, I reduced the temp to 425. That seemed to work much better. They turned out wonderful. I will have to make a double or triple batch next time too keep up with the demand. I will also try different seasonings and spices next time too. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
My new favorite liw calorie snack yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
These chickpeas are a great side dish for dinner. Couldn't be happier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Another one of those recipes that I should have tried sooner. I roasted the chickpeas dry at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Then I sprinkled them with garlic powder and cayenne pepper and mixed in a teaspoon of bacon grease. I turned the oven off and put them back in for another 30 minutes. These are absolutely delicious and crunchy. Thank you for sharing your recipe akcpa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I dry roasted mine, as suggested by another reviewer, then added seasoning. They came out crunchy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Lee Copley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Chef John's Crunchy Spiced Chickpeas

Roasted chickpeas with cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States