Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
These are my favourite snack! However I also found they went soft after some time and so I asked an Indian friend of mine who was the first to introduce these to me, she said they are absolutely the best when dry roasted - and seasoned after cooking. So I tried them without the oil, and seasoned them when they were cooked and they were the best Ive had them. Apparently the oil keeps them moist longer and the salt holds the moisture inside them pea. This works great for any legume, peas, beans of any description - my nieces and nephews eat them by the bucket load and they HATE peas and beans any other way. A great snack for body builders or just anyone watching their weight - especially when dry roasted as it cuts out ALL the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I've been looking for a high protein snack, and this is it. I tried a similar Martha Stewart recipe that called for baking at 300 degrees, but the chickpeas never dried out, even after being in the over for twice the recommended time. I decided to see if there was a similar recipe on Allrecipes.com, and I was so pleased there was. Once I raised the temperature to 450 for about 10 minutes, the chickpeas finally dried out, shrunk, and got crunchy, as they are supposed to do. As another reviewer stated, they do taste a little like corn nuts - a tasty snack but with a lot more protein. Next, I decided to try kidney beans, and they were good too, but some burned at 40 minutes. These I'll have to remove about 5-10 minutes sooner. These beans also split open at this temperature, but it does not affect the pverall taste. I plan on carrying these around in my purse from now on instead of pretzels for future snack attacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
536 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haydee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
What a great idea for a crunchy snack! These came out really great. I know some others have had problems getting them crunchy but mine really came out perfectly. If they're soft in the middle, you need to roast them about another 10 minutes (based on mine). I started with 20' on 350 and then went another 15' or so on 450 to get them nice and crunchy - they roast up and get small and nutty. They didn't burn at all. I used about 1TB oil and about a TB of curry powder and a few dashes of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I'm obsessed with these! I make them several times a week. Here's the deal: I roast them at 400 degrees for a half an hour or so, shaking the pan a few times throughout. Then I toss them with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder and cook for another half an hour, also shaking throughout. They're way better if you add the oil halfway through, or else they don't get crispy and crunchy. They're so healthy and tasty this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMANDA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
What a yummy and healthy snack! I followed the recipe except that I added about 1 tsp. Worchestershire sauce as well. I did find that 450 degrees seemed too hot. The second batch I did at 350 and it turned out much better. Didn't burn it at all and the beans dried out completely. Nice to find a snack food that doesn't come with a lot of guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I had the same problem as other with the chickpeas not being crunchy so i turned my oven off and left the tray of chickpeas in there overnight. This helped because all the chickpeas are now crunchy and not burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
When roasting chickpeas you definitely do not need this much olive oil! Try cooking spray instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Really, really tasty.. I added in a can of kidney beans the second time I made them and they turned out well too! So yummy and highly recommended. I found 450 to be too hot though... I used my convection oven set on 350 and roasted them for about 40 minutes and they came out perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grumblebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I used this recipe as a snack option, but i made it ahead of time, and stored in an airtight container, overnight, and had it the next day.I was so disappointed when i tried them, as the next day they were all soft and rubbery and had very little flavour.can anyone suggest why this may have happened and if there is a way of keeping them crispy and crunchy overnight?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Very good snack! I used salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Next time I'll definitely try the cayenne. These were fabulous right out of the oven, but didn't really stay as yummy, at least not on a humid day like today...they lost their crunch. I made a double batch, thinking they'd be good to snack on for a few days, but they're no where near as good today as they were last night. But fresh out of the oven: awesome! So just make what you think you'll eat right away and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States