Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I thought this was an incredibly easy snack to make that is so good for you! I added jerk seasoning (powdered rub) and it gave them a kick- I did find the odd soggy chick pea but for the most part mine were crunchy- even my picky 5 and 7 yearolds asked me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I used chili powder, cumin and coarse sea salt. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamama3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe has the following faults: * Olive oil has a smoke point of 180degC; the temperature is far too high. * Temperature for a fan bake oven needs to be reduced. * Recommendations for periodically stirring the chickpeas during roasting need to be made. This recipe did not turn out well, for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
As suggested by someone else, I baked these first. A few burnt, but that only added to the overall texture and flavor. I also think that 2 tablespoons of olive oil is little too much. For spices I used parmasan cheese, sea salt, onion powder, and cajun seasoning. ****Update**** I made these again and this time they all burnt to a crisp. So I made another batch and lowered the heat to 425. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made a batch before reading the reviews. It was pretty good. The second batch was even better, because I dry roasted them at 400 degrees for 30 minutes before tossing in olive oil and spices. I used sea salt, garlic powder, curry powder, cayenne pepper, ginger, and Arizona Dreaming (Penzey's). I put them back in for 20 more minutes. Healthy corn nuts, who knew? Hope there's some left for hubby to try tomorrow....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wife in Training

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a great snack if your craving the crunch and salt of potato chips without the quilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Surprisingly very good. I didn't use oil at all, as per previous reviews. Just dry roasted and seasoned after cooking. Brown and crisp after 30 minutes. Added a touch of salt and curry seasoning. They didn't taste like chickpeas at all, just crunchy curry balls! Great finger food alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I LOVE these! What a great low fat alternative to nuts! I am going to give them quick spray of olive oil next time to reduce the fat even further. Taste like pumpkin seeds with the crunch of corn nuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yumnjam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
1-10-12: Ann said she liked this, even though it was overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These are a delicious snack! I used a 15.5 ounce can and only used 1 Tbsp of the Olive oil. I dry roasted for 30 minutes at 400 shaking every 10 minutes and then I added the olive oil, garlic salt, curry powder, cayenne pepper. I also moved it to the bottom rack and baked another 10 minutes and lower the temp to 350. These are addicting! Nice and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Chef John's Crunchy Spiced Chickpeas

Roasted chickpeas with cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States