Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
First of all, I seasoned these after cooking with Mrs. Dash Tomato, Garlic and Basil seasoning and that was good (I still used garlic salt before cooking). Only thing is, I didn't cook them for more than maybe 5 minutes and they started popping (as in popcorn-like popping). Is that supposed to happen or is it something I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
i cooked these at 450 degrees & at 22 minutes they were already getting black... not so much burned, but next time i will try cooking them at a lower temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latiina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Can't believe how great these taste! Such a healthy snack for the entire family! I followed other reviewers advice and baked for 30 min on 400 degrees before coating. I then placed them back in oven for 10 min. They did pop around my oven some, but I didn't want to cover them with foil as I'm afraid they wouldn't brown and get crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Had this at a restaurant as an appetizer with cocktails. Who knew? This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
SO YUMMY!!! I followed others directions of dry roasting first for 30 minutes, then seasoning and then roasting for 10, turn off oven and let sit for another 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Really love these. One thing I make sure to do is to cover the top of the pan with foil poked with holes. This prevented them from jumping all over my oven then burning like the first time I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinnieMay9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I just sprayed with Pam and seasoned before cooking and after cooking, tossed with about 1 tbsp. Olive oil and a little more seasoning...couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very good recipe. I did take some time to pull off the "skins" of the garbanzo beans after rinsing and toweling dry. I agree with most that 2 TBSP olive oil is excessive. I used maybe 2 tsp at most. Added 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp cayenne -- I love the spiciness this lends. I lowered the temperature to 400, and added an extra 20 minutes of cook time so they could dry slowly. I found it was crucial to mix the chickpeas around on the sheet every ten minutes so they cooked evenly. Mine came out very crunchy, spicy and tasty. Great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
These did not cook evenly, some burned, some were still soft and others were just right; I cooked them @ the recomended temperature for the suggested time. The only thing I did differently was that I dry-roasted them. If anyone has any ideas on how to cook them evenly, please let me know cause I did enjoy the ones that turned out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.pleasure

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These were absolutely fabulous! My family went through them quickly. These are so easy to do in the toaster oven. Made a few changes: Did 2 cans, used salt, season salt, chili powder, garlic powder. Dry roasted (no oil) for 30 min. then give tray a little shake to rotate chickpeas. Put back in for 20 min. Turn oven off. Spray with oil then season. Put back in oven for 15 min. Definitely taste your chickpeas after seasoning. You might need more than you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States