Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe has the following faults: * Olive oil has a smoke point of 180degC; the temperature is far too high. * Temperature for a fan bake oven needs to be reduced. * Recommendations for periodically stirring the chickpeas during roasting need to be made. This recipe did not turn out well, for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
As suggested by someone else, I baked these first. A few burnt, but that only added to the overall texture and flavor. I also think that 2 tablespoons of olive oil is little too much. For spices I used parmasan cheese, sea salt, onion powder, and cajun seasoning. ****Update**** I made these again and this time they all burnt to a crisp. So I made another batch and lowered the heat to 425. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made a batch before reading the reviews. It was pretty good. The second batch was even better, because I dry roasted them at 400 degrees for 30 minutes before tossing in olive oil and spices. I used sea salt, garlic powder, curry powder, cayenne pepper, ginger, and Arizona Dreaming (Penzey's). I put them back in for 20 more minutes. Healthy corn nuts, who knew? Hope there's some left for hubby to try tomorrow....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wife in Training

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a great snack if your craving the crunch and salt of potato chips without the quilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Surprisingly very good. I didn't use oil at all, as per previous reviews. Just dry roasted and seasoned after cooking. Brown and crisp after 30 minutes. Added a touch of salt and curry seasoning. They didn't taste like chickpeas at all, just crunchy curry balls! Great finger food alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I LOVE these! What a great low fat alternative to nuts! I am going to give them quick spray of olive oil next time to reduce the fat even further. Taste like pumpkin seeds with the crunch of corn nuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yumnjam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
1-10-12: Ann said she liked this, even though it was overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These are a delicious snack! I used a 15.5 ounce can and only used 1 Tbsp of the Olive oil. I dry roasted for 30 minutes at 400 shaking every 10 minutes and then I added the olive oil, garlic salt, curry powder, cayenne pepper. I also moved it to the bottom rack and baked another 10 minutes and lower the temp to 350. These are addicting! Nice and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Really quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Even at 400 degrees, my chickpeas were almost burnt on the bottom after 20 minutes. I finished them at 350 for 10 minutes. I seasoned with cayenne, garlic powder, smoked paprika, salt, and Worcestershire. They were great. I'll make them again, at 350 degrees for the full time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States