Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I decided to do a test-run prior to Super Bowl. 20 minutes at 450 was no good. A few burned, some were crunchy, and some were still soft. I'll try lowering the temp and stirring them occasionally for a more even result. Seemed like 2 Tbl. of oil was too much so I'll cut down on that, too. I'll have to try again and tweak the temp and baking times for a better outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These are yummy and so easy to make. 1 can does not make much! Next time will double recipe. I only used about 2 teaspoons of olive oil and a little salt. Baked on convection setting at 375 for about 35 minutes. Then, shut the oven off and left them in while the oven cooled down. Nice and crunchy, but not too crunchy. Family liked them and will make this healthy snack again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I agree with Kelly Bradshaw's comment regarding baking them dry. I actually burnt them the first time around. 30 minutes at 450 degrees was much too long (and I wouldn't consider my oven "powerful"). So just be cautious; I'll be baking my next batch in 15 minute increments still at 450 degrees. I used lemon pepper seasoning, and that was very tasty. I think this recipe will not only provide me with a high protein snack, but it will also give me the opportunity to try out different types of seasonings. Whoo-hooo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
not quite 5 star but..... very very adictive :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
My husband *loves* these even though I haven't been able to get the recipe quite right. Olive oil and salt are not options for us. The first time I tried these I used cooking spray as another reviewer had suggested. Most of the Ceci still did not dry all the way through, but the ones that did were great. On my 2nd attempt I dry roasted them as yet another reviewer suggested and even though I turned them several times during cooking, by the time most were dry some had burned. On my 3rd attempt, I am going to try lowering the oven temp to 350F, dry roasting them, and adding the cooking spray and spices afterwards. Although I am not following the recipe as written (dietary concerns) I gave this recipe 5*'s because my husband loves them (even the burned ones!) and the concept is great for a low calorie/high protein/guilt-free snack, even if I haven't quite perfected it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avidproxy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
My kids and I love making roasted chickpeas, they are so tasty. They first time I made them, they were good, but a little moist. The second time I made them, I reduced the oil, and seasoned them after they came out. They were awesome! I now make this recipe at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
amazeballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vdhme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe. Maybe I chose a bad brand of canned chickpeas. I did not like it at all. No very flavorful, despite the seasonings ... I tried a savory and a sweet recipe. Definitely need to cook for a long time to get the crunchiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! I took the suggestion of Kelly and roasted mine without any oil. When they were done, I drizzled them with olive oil and lightly salted them. The only problem I had with them was once I started eating them, I could not stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I followed other suggestions and dry roasted them first for 30 min at 400 in my convection oven then tossed with Olive Oil, salt & garlic powder and put back in oven for only 15 min and most of them burned! Crispy yes, tasty not really. Next time I will try lowering temp to 350...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBIRD32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States