Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Amazing healthy snack. I didn't even use oil, just tossed the chickpeas in the spices and sprayed the cookie sheet with cooking spray. Also added cracked black pepper and onion powder. You MUST bake them long enough though, or they will be worthless. Be patient! You will know they're done when they are crunchy all the way through upon taste-test. If they're even a little soft in the center they will not be good, especially after some time. This took me about 45 min at 400F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I patted dry the chickpeas and only oiled the baking sheet. Seasoned after baking. Turned out wonderful. Great healthy snack for on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My kids kind of liked these but I did not care for them. They had a texture that just didn't work for me, quite grainy. Maybe I didn't cook them long enough? I might try again but don't see this being a regular snack at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuarinoMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were really good. I didn't measure the olive oil, but I'm sure I didn't use 2 TBS, probably closer to 1. I also added a dash of onion powder and a little pepper. I cooked for 30 min, shaking the pan every 10 min to mix them up. Mine turned out nice and crunchy. Be sure to pay attention to the part about "Watch carefully the last few minutes to avoid burning." I didn't and some time within the last 10 min, about 1/4 of mine burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie Black Hein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Best snack! 5 stars when dry roasted. The first time I made these dry roasted I sprinkled a combination of spices on after they cooked and was left feeling a little foolish wondering why my spices did not stick ... toss chickpeas with spice before roasting just skip the oil. Have fun using different spices and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
These are sooooo good! I used less olive oil (maybe 2 teaspoons or so) and all the optional spices as well as some black pepper. Mine were done around the 30 minute mark (my oven is super hot), and I shook the pan about every 10 minutes to brown them evenly. I can't believe I didn't try these sooner. I just took them out of the oven and already I'm eating them, lol. This is such a healthy and delicious snack. I can't wait to try them with other spices as well. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I used a recipe from a cookbook and then got on here to find some other variations. I roasted at 400 with 1 tsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp garlic & herb seasoning, 1/2 tsp cumin, & 1/4 tsp onion powder. The garlic & herb were bigger seasonings, so they completely fell off the chickpeas and burned. Other than that, mine turned out great! Next time, I'll try other reviewers' suggestions about dry roasting. I'm allergic to wheat, so these would be yummy in place of croutons, and they definitely satisfy the desire for a crunchy snack. I'm trying not to eat the whole can right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzzingcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I used home-rehydrated chickpeas since I was cooking some up for soup. I put about 2T of olive oil, 2T Worcestershire sauce, a squirt of garlic powder from the container, about 1/2t pepper, and seasoned salt in a container, shook it up, then added about 2 cups of chickpeas, and shook it up again to coat. Baked for about 45 minutes at 350 until crunchy then sprayed with olive oil from my misto and a touch of garlic salt. Yummy. DH scarfed his down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I tossed mine with pam cooking spray and roasted them for an hour @ 350 only because I was baking chicken at the same time. They came out perfect! Nice and crunchy. Next time I think I will try some different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These tasty little critters took FOREVER to roast. I felt ripped off when the little wizzled things were done! Next time I'll double the recipe and share a few of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Chef John's Crunchy Spiced Chickpeas

Roasted chickpeas with cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States