Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
These are sooooo good! I used less olive oil (maybe 2 teaspoons or so) and all the optional spices as well as some black pepper. Mine were done around the 30 minute mark (my oven is super hot), and I shook the pan about every 10 minutes to brown them evenly. I can't believe I didn't try these sooner. I just took them out of the oven and already I'm eating them, lol. This is such a healthy and delicious snack. I can't wait to try them with other spices as well. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I used a recipe from a cookbook and then got on here to find some other variations. I roasted at 400 with 1 tsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp garlic & herb seasoning, 1/2 tsp cumin, & 1/4 tsp onion powder. The garlic & herb were bigger seasonings, so they completely fell off the chickpeas and burned. Other than that, mine turned out great! Next time, I'll try other reviewers' suggestions about dry roasting. I'm allergic to wheat, so these would be yummy in place of croutons, and they definitely satisfy the desire for a crunchy snack. I'm trying not to eat the whole can right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzzingcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I used home-rehydrated chickpeas since I was cooking some up for soup. I put about 2T of olive oil, 2T Worcestershire sauce, a squirt of garlic powder from the container, about 1/2t pepper, and seasoned salt in a container, shook it up, then added about 2 cups of chickpeas, and shook it up again to coat. Baked for about 45 minutes at 350 until crunchy then sprayed with olive oil from my misto and a touch of garlic salt. Yummy. DH scarfed his down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I tossed mine with pam cooking spray and roasted them for an hour @ 350 only because I was baking chicken at the same time. They came out perfect! Nice and crunchy. Next time I think I will try some different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These tasty little critters took FOREVER to roast. I felt ripped off when the little wizzled things were done! Next time I'll double the recipe and share a few of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
The recipe is a 4 or less on it's own, but a 5 with the advice to dry roast the chickpeas before adding oil or seasoning. I roasted mine at 350 for about an hour and 20 minutes, but I bet it could be done a bit faster at a higher heat. They're crunchy just like corn nuts! I let them cool overnight since I got busy, and made sure to leave them uncovered so they wouldn't try to pull in any moisture. In a ziplock bag, I tossed the beans with a couple tbsp of olive oil and 2 tbsp or so of ranch seasoning and baked them for 10 minutes at 400. Watch them so they don't burn! Also, I think I'll use a little more ranch next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
These are such a wonderful and easy snack! I am by no means a great cook but it was really fun to do small batches and play with different seasonings every time. My friends liked them a lot with dry hidden valley ranch dip seasoning. Also with garlic salt and crushed red pepper flakes. Great in a salad or just as a snack! Mine were done in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sehkvf

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Saint Louis, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deeno
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These are incredibly easy and good. Don't be afraid of the seasonings. Mine turned out rather bland becasue I was too easy with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Mine burnt a bit the first time out. They are a great snack! I ate the whole can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I do mine like this except I skip the garlic salt & cayenne, and do nutritional yeast instead. I could eat a whole can!! YUM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States