Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
These were way beyond what I expected them to taste like. I drained and patted them dry on paper towels and tossed them with salt, cayenne pepper, garlic powder and a little cumin. I added no oil. Baked at 425 degrees for 45 minutes and they were yummy. I could have baked them longer to make them crunchier but this texture was fine. Great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I tried with oil and without and it's much better without oil. I only put salt, nothing else, right before I stick them in the oven. I drain and rinse the can of chick pea, but do not blot them dry, so that the salt will stick. To prevent them from going soggy, don't put them in a small bowl (or deep one for that matter) if they are still hot. It will cause them to release steam which will cause the bottom of the bowl to have softer chick peas. Put them in small shallow bowls, or keep them flat in a layer until the cool, and they'll stay nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This recipe was great! I just made it tonight for my commune and everybody loved it! Its healthy too which is an added plus. I didn't use any garlic salt but I put in tons and tons of cayenne pepper. Mine only took about 1/2 an hour to cook in the oven and would have been burnt to a crisp by 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The_Michigan_Buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
These were very good and easy to make. I used a little garlic salt and smoked paprika and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
SKIP OIL. DRY ROAST! Check and stir often for even browning. These just came out of the oven and we are burning our tongues. They are so delicious we can't wait for them to cool down. I don't think I will ever eat corn nuts again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
great idea. My 1 1/2 yr old loved them. Which really, what more can you ask for? I thought they needed more or a different flavor though... still kind of beany tasting. Great crunch though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Yum yum YUM!! My roommates and I have officially decided that these are the best study snack out there! I did make a few alterations, hence the 4 stars, but really these things are over-the-top stellar. I had some dried chickpeas that I bought at a bulk store and I wanted to try them out. I soaked them for 24 hours, then cooked them about an hour on the stove until they were soft. I let them cool a bit and then spooned a single layer onto a baking sheet and dry roasted them at 350 degrees for 40 minutes EXACTLY. They came out crunchy and delicious! I poured on about half a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil, added a few shakes of garlic powder and a bit of salt to taste and they were good to go! Thank you for this recipe!! No more snacking on chips for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I used about 1/4 lb of dry chickpeas, which I had cooed, drained and refrigerated. I tossed them with the suggested oil and seasonings and spread them on a baking sheet. I started them at 450 for 10 minutes, but I could see the outside would be burnt while the inside remained soft, so I lowered the temperature to 350 and turned on my convection option. I shook the pan a few times while they were cooking to turn them and get a even golden color and they were perfect at 35 minutes. Very easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
The chickpeas took forever to roast. Much longer than indicated on the recipe. The taste is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These were good straight from the oven but did not store well at all. I liked okay but boyfriend did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States