Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Ok, just not really anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very yummy. I cooked the chickpeas for 40 minutes than spiced them up with salt, pepper and olive oil. Then I put them in the oven for another 10 minutes, checking that they didn't burn. When they came out, they were crunchy and flavorful I couldn't stop eating them. Don't think there will be any left by morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Easy, fun and healthy snack to make for the kids. Followed the directions and they were crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvthedalilama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Amazing healthy snack. I didn't even use oil, just tossed the chickpeas in the spices and sprayed the cookie sheet with cooking spray. Also added cracked black pepper and onion powder. You MUST bake them long enough though, or they will be worthless. Be patient! You will know they're done when they are crunchy all the way through upon taste-test. If they're even a little soft in the center they will not be good, especially after some time. This took me about 45 min at 400F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I patted dry the chickpeas and only oiled the baking sheet. Seasoned after baking. Turned out wonderful. Great healthy snack for on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My kids kind of liked these but I did not care for them. They had a texture that just didn't work for me, quite grainy. Maybe I didn't cook them long enough? I might try again but don't see this being a regular snack at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuarinoMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were really good. I didn't measure the olive oil, but I'm sure I didn't use 2 TBS, probably closer to 1. I also added a dash of onion powder and a little pepper. I cooked for 30 min, shaking the pan every 10 min to mix them up. Mine turned out nice and crunchy. Be sure to pay attention to the part about "Watch carefully the last few minutes to avoid burning." I didn't and some time within the last 10 min, about 1/4 of mine burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Best snack! 5 stars when dry roasted. The first time I made these dry roasted I sprinkled a combination of spices on after they cooked and was left feeling a little foolish wondering why my spices did not stick ... toss chickpeas with spice before roasting just skip the oil. Have fun using different spices and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
These are sooooo good! I used less olive oil (maybe 2 teaspoons or so) and all the optional spices as well as some black pepper. Mine were done around the 30 minute mark (my oven is super hot), and I shook the pan about every 10 minutes to brown them evenly. I can't believe I didn't try these sooner. I just took them out of the oven and already I'm eating them, lol. This is such a healthy and delicious snack. I can't wait to try them with other spices as well. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I used a recipe from a cookbook and then got on here to find some other variations. I roasted at 400 with 1 tsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp garlic & herb seasoning, 1/2 tsp cumin, & 1/4 tsp onion powder. The garlic & herb were bigger seasonings, so they completely fell off the chickpeas and burned. Other than that, mine turned out great! Next time, I'll try other reviewers' suggestions about dry roasting. I'm allergic to wheat, so these would be yummy in place of croutons, and they definitely satisfy the desire for a crunchy snack. I'm trying not to eat the whole can right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzzingcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States