Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I only had a small can, I added some EVOO, homemade taco seasoning and baked at 425 for 40 minutes, and they were chewy, so I lowered to 300 for 1 hour, then turned oven off, let them sit for 2 hours while I went shopping. They needed some garlic salt...yummy! Hubby does NOT like chickpeas, I made him taste ONE...he liked it but he doesn't trust me (we've been eating healthier for several yrs!) I haven't and won't tell him they're chickpeas! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyl46

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Four words: simple, delicious, healthy and easy. This is snack hit every time it's brought out to the table! I made these the day before Thanksgiving to snack on while I started cooking through out the next day and found myself not being able to stop. Even though the garlic salt is listed as 'optional', I highly recommend adding it - even in place of just regular salt. I added the cayenne as well since I can't get enough of spice. Trust me, you are going to want to make bags and bags of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I did not need to bake these nearly as long as suggested, more like half the time given. These would be great for snacking and salads. Next time I want to try 2 or 3 cans of chickpeas at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Made these 10-15-2014. I followed advice from some of the other reviewers and first dry-roasted the chickpeas for 60 min at 300 degrees. Then I tossed them with a teaspoon or less of olive oil and garlic salt and roasted an additional 15 min, shaking every 5 or so. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
It was like eating a small ball of sand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I took them out after 30min because it looked like they were done...but could've used the extra 10-15. The inside was a bit soft. I also did the dry roasted method. I used a tablespoon of coconut oil, cayenne, sea salt, and a little sugar. Taste is good. I used the canned chicks for my first try. Will definitely use this recipe again. The possibilities are endless when it comes to flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Tried roasting at 375 for 30 mins dry, then 30 mins with oil/spices. next time will try 400 for 20-25 mins each time. these nuts were quite hard the way I cooked them. I think sneak attacking them with heat might make them lighter and crunchier?? I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
That is entirely too much oil. I make these tasty little snacks all the time, but I use 3 cans of rinsed and dried beans and 1 1/2 tbs of coconut oil. I change up the seasoning but the most common trend is garlic powder, cumin and habanero salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I made these one night as a snack and I thought they were nice when hot but not as much when they cooled. My roommate on the other hand ate them all night and she loved them, she has asked me to make them several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Just made these. They are wonderful. Will be my tractor snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States