Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
After several attempts at this recipe, I think I found the perfect combination. 450 was way too hot and after 15 min in the oven, the chickpeas were burnt (plus I don't think you are supposed to use olive oil at such a high temp). They turned out the best when I put them in the oven at 350 for 30 min (no oil/cooking spray), then took them out, did a light spray and added the seasonings and stirred them around and continued baking and stirring, about every 5 min for another 15 - 20 min. I will keep experimenting with different seasonings just to keep it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
First off, I think that the temperature is too high. After about 15 minutes of roasting they started popping and about 6 jumped off the pan into the bottom of the oven. After I got them picked up, I reduced the temp to 425. That seemed to work much better. They turned out wonderful. I will have to make a double or triple batch next time too keep up with the demand. I will also try different seasonings and spices next time too. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
My new favorite liw calorie snack yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Another one of those recipes that I should have tried sooner. I roasted the chickpeas dry at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Then I sprinkled them with garlic powder and cayenne pepper and mixed in a teaspoon of bacon grease. I turned the oven off and put them back in for another 30 minutes. These are absolutely delicious and crunchy. Thank you for sharing your recipe akcpa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I dry roasted mine, as suggested by another reviewer, then added seasoning. They came out crunchy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Lee Copley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The chickpeas had too much oil added to them, they were only in the oven for 20 minutes at 450 degrees and they had shrunk a lot. They were burned and pretty flavorless. Would I make these again? I would try. Honestly, tweak this in the temperature and maybe they would be better. I might try the recipe again, but I'm not sure it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made the recipe using garlic salt, cumin, cayenne and black pepper and found that another 10 minutes in the oven was needed to make them crunchy. Even with the liberal use of spices, I found it difficult to get much flavor on the peas. They reminded me of half popped popcorn, but had less flavor. If I make these again, I might try bacon drippings a pinch of sugar and dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this and it was awesome! Thank you for the recipe! Only change he made was using regular bacon, sautéing the onions and celery in the bacon fat and added a can of sweet corn. Best chili I've had yet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I only had a small can, I added some EVOO, homemade taco seasoning and baked at 425 for 40 minutes, and they were chewy, so I lowered to 300 for 1 hour, then turned oven off, let them sit for 2 hours while I went shopping. They needed some garlic salt...yummy! Hubby does NOT like chickpeas, I made him taste ONE...he liked it but he doesn't trust me (we've been eating healthier for several yrs!) I haven't and won't tell him they're chickpeas! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyl46

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Four words: simple, delicious, healthy and easy. This snack is a hit every time it's brought out to the table! I made these the day before Thanksgiving to snack on while I started cooking through out the next day and found myself not being able to stop. Even though the garlic salt is listed as 'optional', I highly recommend adding it - even in place of just regular salt. I added the cayenne as well since I can't get enough of spice. Trust me, you are going to want to make bags and bags of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States